Winnipeg - Neurology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 25 Jan 2027
1 date, 26 Jan 2027
Winnipeg, 1 teaching site
What stands out about this program
Dedicated non-clinical PGY2 neuroanatomy block with a guided curriculum and multiple-choice examinations.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Three formative practical OSCE exams per year plus formative exams in a modular academic half-day.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Manitoba Adult Neurology residency is a 5-year program with entry at PGY-1, with most training at Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg.
- The program averages three residents per year and includes a longitudinal outpatient clinic from PGY2 and six blocks of electives.
- All residents must complete a research project, with one research block in the senior years.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Psychiatry1 block
- Rheumatology1 block
- Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation1 block
- Cardiology1 block
- Neurology inpatient serviceFive blocks
- PGY-2
- Adult Neurology4-5 blocks
- Intensive Care2 blocks
- Medical Rehabilitation1 block
- Neurosurgery1 block
- Neuroradiology1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Neuroanatomy block
Other rotations
- Inpatient Neurology Senior (PGY3-5 · 9 blocks)
- Pediatric Neurology (PGY3-5 · 3 blocks)
- EEG/Epilepsy (PGY3-5 · 3 blocks)
- EMG/Neuromuscular (PGY3-5 · 3 blocks)
- Neuropathology (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- Research (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- General Neurology outpatient clinics (PGY3-5 · 4 blocks)
- Multiple Sclerosis (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- Movement Disorders (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- Stroke Neurology (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- Neuro-ophthalmology (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- Cognitive Neurology (PGY3-5 · 1 block)
- electives (PGY3-5 · 6 blocks)
Where you train
Winnipeg, Manitoba: 1 teaching site.
- Health Sciences Centre
Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 1 of 1.
Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet
Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage.
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
About Winnipeg
People
749,607residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- “All International Medical Graduates must attend the compulsory 1 month orientation which is held in June of each year, prior to the July 1st start date.”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 25 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
2 Neurology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 25 Jan 2027 |
|
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 26 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 2 Feb 2026 |
| IMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 1 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Manitoba Neurology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program that uses Competency by Design (CBD) curriculum.
- Located primarily at Health Sciences Centre, the program offers diverse neurological training with close faculty mentorship, focusing on developing skilled neurologists through extensive clinical exposure and academic development.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a research project, present findings at rounds, and have opportunities for academic career development.
- Training setting
- Primary training occurs at Health Sciences Centre (HSC), the largest tertiary care hospital in Manitoba, providing exposure to a diverse and complex patient population.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive skill development through four training stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core, and Transition to Practice stages.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic achievement
- Communication skills
- Reference letters
- Neurology elective experience
- Research experience
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Sean Udow
Dr. Babawale Arabambi
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Neurology elsewhere
Nearest to Winnipeg
Did this page answer your question?