Skip to content
CdnMD

Saskatoon - General Surgery

University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Saskatoon, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Optional 3-6 month community surgery rotation at one of four affiliated regional training centres.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated 3-block endoscopy component in PGY3 taught by surgical faculty.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year General Surgery residency is based at Royal University Hospital in Saskatoon, with rotations at St. Paul's Hospital and Regina General Hospital.
  • PGY3 includes a dedicated 3-block endoscopy component, and residents may spend 3-6 months in a community surgery rotation at a regional centre.
  • Each resident must complete a research project and present it at Resident Research Days.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-3
  • endoscopy3 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Surgery (PGY-1 and 2 · 13 blocks)
  • Pediatric Surgery (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Vascular Surgery (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Thoracic Surgery (PGY-1 and 2)
  • ICU (PGY-1 and 2)
  • General Surgery in Regina (PGY-1 and 2 · Regina)
  • Research (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Elective time (PGY-3 to 5 · six months)
  • Community Surgery Rotation (PGY-3 to 5 · 3-6 months · one of our four affiliated regional training centers)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 8 teaching sites.

  • Royal University Hospital
  • St. Paul's Hospital
  • Saskatoon City Hospital
  • Regina General Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
  • Victoria Hospital in Prince Albert (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
  • Battlefords Union Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Moose Jaw Union Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
  • Lloydminster Hospital (Lloydminster · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 8 of 8.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital.
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Victoria Hospital in Prince Albert, Battlefords Union Hospital, Moose Jaw Union Hospital, Lloydminster Hospital.

Regina General Hospital

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Saskatoon

  • People

    266,141residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saskatoon

  • Housing

    3.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saskatoon (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years1 date, 26 Jan 2025
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan's General Surgery Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in Saskatoon and Regina.
  • The program provides residents with a strong operative experience, diverse clinical rotations, and opportunities for research, emphasizing training competent general surgeons who can practice at a consultant level.
Research
Residents are required to complete a research project, with opportunities through the Clinical Investigator Program and dedicated research blocks.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and regional hospitals in Saskatchewan, including sites in Saskatoon, Regina, Prince Albert, and other communities, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on developing well-rounded surgeons who demonstrate excellence in clinical skills, research, and CanMEDS roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CaRMS score
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Research
  • Elective evaluations
  • Reference letters
  • Casper test
  • MCCQE Part I
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Gavin Beck

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Saskatoon

  • Edmonton - General SurgeryUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 484 km

    7 positions · CMG

  • Calgary - General SurgeryUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 525 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Winnipeg - General SurgeryUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 711 km

    4 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 3 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35943 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?