Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - General Surgery

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

1 date, 23 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 9 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Only four fellowship programs in Edmonton, so residents compete with few fellows for operative cases.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Exposure to less common subspecialties, including transplant, robotic colorectal and oncoplastic breast surgery.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Alberta General Surgery residency is a 5-year program based at four teaching hospitals in Edmonton.
  • PGY-4 includes a 3-block rural general surgery rotation, with Grande Prairie as the primary rural site.
  • Residents must give at least three Annual Research Day presentations, and most of PGY-5 is spent as Lead Resident.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • General Surgery5 blocks
  • Orthopedic Surgery/Plastic Surgery1 block each
  • Medicine1 block
  • Coronary Care Unit1 block
  • Pediatric General Surgery1 block
  • Anesthesia1 block
  • Vacation1 block
  • Trauma1 block
PGY-2
  • General Surgery6 blocks
  • Intensive Care Unit3 blocks
  • Thoracic Surgery2 blocks
  • Endoscopy2 blocks
PGY-3
  • General Surgery9 blocks
  • Pediatric General Surgery (senior)2 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks
PGY-4
  • General Surgery Rural rotation3 blocks
  • General Surgery3 blocks
  • Lead Resident3 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks
  • Vascular Surgery2 blocks
PGY-5
  • Lead Residentten blocks
  • Transition to Practicethree blocks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 9 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Misericordia Community Hospital
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital
  • Sturgeon Community Hospital
  • Fort Saskatchewan Community Hospital (Fort Saskatchewan)
  • Chinook Regional Hospital (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
  • Grande Prairie Regional Hospital (Grande Prairie · rural or distributed site)
  • Red Deer Regional Hospital (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 8 of 9; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Sturgeon Community Hospital, Fort Saskatchewan Community Hospital, Chinook Regional Hospital, Red Deer Regional Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

  • Wed 18 Nov 2026

    5:00–7:00 pm MST

    Open house · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)

  • Fri 22 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream75 years1 date, 23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream75 years2 dates, 23–24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta General Surgery Residency Program is a premier 5-year training program designed to produce graduates ready for independent practice in academic or community settings.
  • The program offers exceptional operative diversity, comprehensive surgical exposure across multiple subspecialties, and a strong emphasis on research and professional development.
Research
Extensive research opportunities with support for graduate degrees through the Clinician Investigator Program, funding available for basic sciences, surgical education, clinical outcomes, and global surgery research.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center in Edmonton with multiple teaching hospitals, offering a diverse clinical environment with high surgical case volume across northern Alberta and surrounding regions.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) focused on achieving Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and Milestones, with frequent formative assessments and progressive independence throughout training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research/Publications
  • Leadership skills
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officegsurgpg@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - General SurgeryUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Saskatoon - General SurgeryUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 484 km

    4 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - General SurgeryUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 818 km

    8 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35288 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?