Saskatoon - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 3 Nov 2026
Saskatoon, 8 teaching sites · 2 rural weeks
Also at USask, applied for at the school: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, on USask’s page of programs applied for at the school · A third year of training; physicians’ funding prorated to program length · residents and practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)
Summary
- This one-year Family Practice Anesthesia program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia services in rural Canada and leads to eligibility for a Certificate of Added Competence.
- Most training occurs in Saskatoon operating rooms, including obstetric, pediatric, ICU and adult anesthesia rotations.
- Residents spend two months in a Saskatchewan community hospital and may spend two weeks with a rural Family Practice Anesthesiologist.
- Practising family physicians may apply, and NRP and ACLS are required courses.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (2 weeks)
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Obstetric Anesthesia (2 months · Royal University Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (1 month · Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
- ICU (1 month · Royal University Hospital)
- Adult General Anesthesia & Consults (5-6 months · Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Community Anesthesia (2 months · North Battleford and/or Prince Albert)
- Rural Practice Anesthesia (2 weeks · Melfort and/or Meadow Lake communities)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 8 teaching sites; 2 rural weeks.
- Royal University Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Battlefords Union Hospital (North Battleford · rural or distributed site)
- Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
- Cypress Regional Hospital (Swift Current · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 8 of 8.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 3 Nov 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Matthew Johnson
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Department of Anesthesia, Perioperative Medicine, and Pain Management Program Administrator, Enhanced Skills Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?