Saskatoon - Diagnostic Radiology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027
Saskatoon, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Senior maternal-fetal medicine observership exposing residents to acute obstetrics and advanced fetal anomaly imaging.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Saskatchewan Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency organized into four Competence By Design stages.
- Most training takes place at Royal University, Saskatoon City, St. Paul's and Jim Pattison Children's Hospitals in Saskatoon, plus affiliated clinics.
- Residents are expected to complete two research projects and attend the annual Resident Research Day.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Internal Medicine (including GIM and Neurology) (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Surgery (including General Surgery and Neurosurgery) (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Obstetrics (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Paediatrics (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Radiology Department (Transition to discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 7 teaching sites.
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital
- Saskatoon Medical Imaging Clinic
- Saskatoon Wall Street Clinic
- City Hospital Breast Health Centre
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 4 of 7; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 18 and 19 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 5 years | 2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 6 | 5 years | 2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan Diagnostic Radiology program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in Saskatoon, emphasizing sound training in general diagnostic imaging.
- The program provides residents with progressive learning opportunities across four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core, and Transition to Practice, with a strong focus on developing competent, well-rounded radiologists.
- Research
- Residents are expected to complete two research projects during training, with funding and support available for conference presentations and research.
- Training setting
- Urban medical training environment in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, with multiple hospital sites including Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, and Jim Pattison Children's Hospital.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing sound training in general diagnostic imaging and developing residents' skills across CanMEDS roles.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- CASPer exam
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Academic transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Jordan Russell
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?