Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Diagnostic Radiology

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one); Panel

Winnipeg, 7 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Access to one of Canada's only IMRIS hybrid 3T MRI and biplane neuroangiography suites.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Very active interventional and neurointerventional service.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • 1:1 resident-to-faculty ratio.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year diagnostic radiology residency based at the Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, and Grace General Hospital in Winnipeg.
  • Core imaging training is organized in blocks of 1-3 months, and residents attend a 4-week AIRP radiologic-pathologic correlation course.
  • A scholarly project is required, with protected time available, and rural rotations are optional.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • surgery (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • medicine (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • pediatrics (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • adult and pediatric ER (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • neurology (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • pathology (Transition To Discipline (TTD))
  • abdominal imaging (Foundations and Core)
  • chest & cardiac imaging (Foundations and Core)
  • musculoskeletal imaging (Foundations and Core)
  • interventional radiology (Foundations and Core)
  • neuroradiology (Foundations and Core)
  • pediatric imaging (Foundations and Core)
  • ultrasound (Foundations and Core)
  • nuclear medicine (Foundations and Core)
  • breast imaging (Foundations and Core)
  • radiographic pathologic correlation course (Foundations and Core · 4-week · Washington, D.C.)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 7 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • Children's Hospital
  • St. Boniface Hospital
  • Grace General Hospital
  • Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine
  • Manitoba Breast Health Centre
  • Pan Am Clinic

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 4 of 7; no published record for 3.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; Children's Hospital; St. Boniface Hospital; Grace General Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, Children's Hospital, St. Boniface Hospital, Grace General Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one); PanelNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Diagnostic Radiology residency program offers comprehensive training across all radiology modalities and disciplines.
  • With multiple fellowship-trained radiologists in various subspecialties and a large catchment area, the program provides extensive exposure to diverse clinical pathologies.
  • Residents benefit from a collegial environment, 1:1 faculty ratio, and opportunities for inter-provincial electives.
Research
Financial support and protected time available for research. Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project and present at the annual Radiology Research Day.
Training setting
Based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, with training at tertiary care institutions including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, and Grace General Hospital. Advanced imaging facilities include state-of-the-art MRI scanners and a unique IMRIS hybrid MRI and neuroangiography suite.
Teaching approach
The program follows a competency-based approach with progressive independence, focusing on exposing residents to core training in all imaging disciplines through structured rotations and providing comprehensive educational experiences with increasing levels of responsibility.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Interview performance
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical school grades
  • Standardized examinations
  • Electives in radiology
  • Scholarly activity
  • Research interests

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Esther Kim

  • Dr. Derek Bueddefeld

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeDiagnostic.Radiology@umanitoba.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Saskatoon - Diagnostic RadiologyUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 711 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Edmonton - Diagnostic RadiologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 1,194 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Calgary - Diagnostic RadiologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 1,203 km

    6 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 14 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35543 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?