Saskatoon - Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 22 Jan 2027
Saskatoon, 6 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Senior residents run the anatomical pathology division and all laboratories during a Prince Albert rotation.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Twelve residents, described as one of the largest Diagnostic & Clinical Pathology programs in Canada.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology residency based at Royal University Hospital in Saskatoon.
- Training takes place in Saskatoon and Regina, and senior residents complete a general pathology rotation in Prince Albert.
- Residents are encouraged to do at least one research project, and two research blocks can be scheduled.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Bootcamp (Transition to Discipline)
- general pathology rotation (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 6 teaching sites.
- Royal University Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- Regina Pasqua Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Regina General Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 6 of 6.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Victoria Hospital
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 23 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan offers a comprehensive 5-year Diagnostic & Clinical Pathology residency training program that is competency-based and fully accredited by the Royal College.
- The program aims to educate, support, and mentor residents to become confident and competent laboratory medicine physicians capable of handling diverse challenges in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine practice.
- Research
- Residents are encouraged to undertake at least one research project, with funding available for conference presentations and dedicated research blocks.
- Training setting
- Training occurs in multiple hospitals across Saskatchewan, including Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital in Saskatoon, and Regina Pasqua Hospital and Regina General Hospital in Regina.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on work-based assessments of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and progressive skill development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- CV/Resume
- Casper test
- Medical school transcript
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Rani Kanthan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?