Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027virtual

Hamilton, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Opportunity to take part in digital pathology sign-out through a liaison with Mackenzie Health.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • DCP residents routinely attend a Transfusion Medicine boot camp.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology residency at McMaster University, based at four Hamilton hospital sites.
  • Core training covers anatomical pathology, hematopathology, medical microbiology, medical biochemistry, community hospitals and elective/research rotations.
  • Residents are expected to present at the Annual Residents Research Day.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • introductory Boot camp (Transition to Discipline stage (TTD) · 1 block)
  • Anatomical Pathology (Transition to Discipline stage (TTD) · 1 Block)
  • Autopsy (Foundation stage · 1 block)
  • Surgical Oncology (Foundation stage)
  • Hematology (Foundation stage)
  • infectious disease (Foundation stage)
  • Medical Oncology (Foundation stage)
  • Endocrinology (Foundation stage)
  • Pediatric Oncology (Foundation stage)
  • Anatomical Pathology (Foundation stage)
  • Anatomical Pathology (including subspecialties) (Core stage)
  • Hematopathology/hematology (Core stage)
  • Medical Microbiology (Core stage)
  • Medical Biochemistry (Core stage)
  • Community Hospitals (Core stage)
  • Elective/Research rotations (Core stage)
  • Anatomical Pathology (Transition to Practice stage (TTP))
  • Hematopathology/hematology (Transition to Practice stage (TTP))
  • Medical Microbiology (Transition to Practice stage (TTP))
  • Medical Biochemistry (Transition to Practice stage (TTP))
  • research/elective (Transition to Practice stage (TTP))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • McMaster University Medical Center
  • St. Joseph’s Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital and Cancer center
  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • Mackenzie Health

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 5, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At McMaster University Medical Center, Juravinski Hospital and Cancer center, Hamilton General Hospital.

St. Joseph’s Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 and 5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Hamilton.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McMaster Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology (DCP)/General Pathology Program has a stellar reputation for graduating residents who are valued for the depth of skill and expertise they provide.
  • The program offers an organized, yet flexible curriculum tailored to each resident's needs, with a cohesive resident group, highly responsive program administration, and dedicated faculty.
Research
Residents have access to the Pathology and Molecular Medicine Department Resident Research Grant, with multiple additional grants available through hospital services, McMaster, and the Royal College.
Training setting
Integrated training across 4 main hospital sites in Hamilton: McMaster University Medical Center, St. Joseph's Hospital, Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Center, and Hamilton General Hospital. Each site has specific areas of expertise with associated clinicopathological rounds.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) focusing on achievement of outcomes using the CanMEDS framework. Training is divided into four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Alice Graham

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Senior Education Program Associate

Write to the officepmmgp@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35946 (CMG stream), 36498 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream