Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Anesthesiology

University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
11 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 23 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal simulation curriculum spanning all five years, starting with an intensive PGY-1 boot camp.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Referral hub for a catchment from Red Deer to northern Canada.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Research is presented twice at Resident Research Day: first as a poster or proposal, later as an oral presentation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Alberta offers a five-year Royal College Anesthesiology residency organized according to Competence by Design.
  • Residents rotate through teaching sites in the Edmonton Corridor, including University of Alberta Hospital, Stollery Children’s Hospital and community hospitals.
  • Every resident completes a project, and rural rotations are not mandatory, though funded electives are available.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • internal medicine (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • cardiology (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • adult and pediatric emergency medicine (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • general and pediatric surgery (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • OB/GYN (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • otolaryngology (ENT) (Foundations of Discipline (PGY-1-2))
  • adult and pediatric anesthesia, including complex pediatric and pediatric cardiac care (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • obstetric anesthesia, including high-risk obstetrics (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • cardiac, thoracic, vascular, neuroanesthesia and anesthesia for complex spine surgery (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • regional anesthesia, acute pain medicine, chronic pain medicine and advanced airway management (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • anesthesia outside the operating room, ambulatory anesthesia, perioperative consultation and pre-admission assessment (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • critical care and related disciplines, including adult intensive care, pediatric intensive care, coronary care, respirology, transfusion medicine and point-of-care ultrasound (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))
  • care of emergency and trauma patients, transplantation, major burns and other high-acuity referral populations (Core of Discipline (PGY-3 to early PGY-5))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute
  • Stollery Children’s Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Lois Hole Hospital for Women
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospita l
  • Misericordia Community Hospital
  • Leduc Community Hospital (Leduc)
  • Sturgeon Community Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 9; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute, Stollery Children’s Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, Leduc Community Hospital, Sturgeon Community Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream115 years1 date, 23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream115 years1 date, 17 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta offers a comprehensive 5-year Anesthesiology residency program that provides extensive clinical training across multiple Edmonton hospitals.
  • The program focuses on developing high-caliber anesthesiologists through a robust training curriculum that emphasizes clinical expertise, research opportunities, and a commitment to lifelong learning.
Research
Residents are required to make two scholarly presentations at Annual Research Day, with strong faculty research interests in cardiovascular physiology, pharmacology, pain management, and medical education.
Training setting
Urban medical training environment in Edmonton, Alberta, spanning multiple tertiary care teaching hospitals with a combined surgical volume of over 50,000 procedures annually.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, deliberate practice, and developing residents into complete specialist anesthesiologists with a passion for lifelong learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Electives completed
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Academic performance
  • Leadership skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeapmedu@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - AnesthesiologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    8 positions · CMG

  • Saskatoon - AnesthesiologyUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 484 km

    6 positions · CMG

  • Regina - AnesthesiologyUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina, SK · 698 km

    3 positions · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35566 (CMG stream), 35663 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream