Ottawa - Psychiatry
University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 92
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programTue 3 Nov 2026,6:00–8:00 pm (time zone not stated)
Interviews
12 dates, 18 Jan – 5 Feb 2027
Ottawa, 6 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents can complete rotations in French as well as English.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Faculty run the national psychiatry review course every year.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Ottawa Psychiatry program is a 5-year residency based at six Ottawa teaching hospitals, including the Royal Ottawa Hospital and CHEO.
- Psychotherapy training is longitudinal from PGY2 to PGY4, and all residents complete a mandatory scholarly project with protected time.
- Rotations can be done in French and English, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations)
- Family Medicine (Foundations)
- Endocrinology (Foundations)
- Geriatric Medicine (Foundations)
- Adult and Child Emergency Medicine (Foundations)
- Neurology (Foundations)
- Palliative Care (Foundations)
- Psychiatric Emergency Service (Foundations)
- Addictions (Foundations)
- Intellectual Developmental Disorder (Foundations)
- Under-Serviced Psychiatry (Foundations)
- General Hospital Adult Inpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General, MFH & ROH & QCH)
- General Hospital Adult Outpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General & MFH & ROH & QCH)
- Child & Adolescent psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · CHEO & ROH)
- Geriatric psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · ROH & MFH & TOH)
- Severe & Persistent Mental Illness (Core · 6 mos · ROH, MFH & TOH)
- Consultation-Liaison psychiatry (Core · 3 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Shared & Collaborative Care (Core · 5 mos · Civic, General, & MFH & QCH)
- Psychotherapy (Core · longitudinal for PGY2 - 4 · All teaching sites)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 7 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Transition to Discipline/Foundations (Transition to Discipline/Foundations · 12 mos · Civic, General & MFH & ROH)
- General Hospital Adult Inpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General, MFH & ROH)
- General Hospital Adult Outpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General & MFH, ROH)
- Child & Adolescent psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · CHEO & ROH)
- Geriatric psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · ROH & MFH)
- Severe & Persistent Mental Illness (Core · 6 mos · ROH, MFH & General)
- Consultation-Liaison psychiatry (Core · 3 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Shared & Collaborative Care (Core · 2 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Psychotherapy (Core · longitudinal for PGY 2- 4 · All teaching sites)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 7 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)
Where you train
Ottawa, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- The Royal Ottawa Hospital
- Montfort Hospital
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 6; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Ottawa
People
1,017,449residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- “Any applicant below the average for the examination or below the top 30% of applicants will not be considered further.”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 2026
6:00–8:00 pm (time zone not stated)
Info session · Virtual · For all applicants
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 9 | 5 years | 12 dates, 18 Jan – 5 Feb 2027 |
|
| IMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 12 dates, 18 Jan – 5 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 10 | 5 years | 13 dates, 12 Jan – 6 Feb 2026 |
| IMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 13 dates, 12 Jan – 6 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Ottawa Psychiatry Program offers comprehensive training in psychiatry, emphasizing a wide breadth of expertise across various subspecialties.
- The program focuses on developing highly qualified psychiatrists through an engaging and supportive educational environment that covers multiple clinical domains and psychotherapeutic approaches.
- Research
- Protected time for mandatory scholarly project, comprehensive seminar series on research methodology, annual Research Day presentation
- Training setting
- Urban medical training environment in Ottawa, with multiple hospital sites including academic and community hospitals across different campuses.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education using a progressive learning approach, with structured curriculum focusing on CanMEDS roles and comprehensive skill development throughout residency stages.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Examinations
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sephora Tang
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Manager
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Psychiatry elsewhere
Nearest to Ottawa
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?