Skip to content
CdnMD

North Bay - Psychiatry

NOSM UniversityNorth Bay, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027virtual

North Bay, 4 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Distributed northern program: residents may spend up to 18 months at sites other than their home base.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional clinical experiences across Northern Ontario, from small rural hospitals to other major centres.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University's five-year Psychiatry program is a single integrated program distributed across North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay.
  • Residents matched to North Bay live there and may spend up to 18 months at other program sites.
  • NOSM U supports travel and housing for core rotations away from the home site, and residents must complete a research project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Small program
  • Early independence
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · research project
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • combination of Psychiatry Inpatient/Outpatient (Transition to Discipline · first 3 blocks PGY1)
  • Addictions (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Neurology (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Family Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Emergency Psychiatry (Foundations I · 1 Block)
  • Selectives/Elective (Foundations I · 4 Blocks)
  • Personalized Learning in Psychiatry (Foundations II · 1 Block)
  • Inpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
  • Outpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
  • Longitudinal Psychotherapy training (Core of Discipline · weekly basis during the entirety of Core)
  • Geriatric Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
  • SPMI training (Core of Discipline · 6 blocks)
  • Addictions medicine/psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 2-3 blocks)
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 3-4 blocks)
  • Collaborative/shared care (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Personalized learning year in Psychiatry (Transition to Practice)
PGY-1
  • Selectives/Elective4 Blocks
  • Addictions1 Block
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block
  • Internal Medicine1 Block
  • Neurology1 Block
  • Family Medicine1 Block
  • Emergency Psychiatry1 Block
  • combination of Psychiatry Inpatient/Outpatient
PGY-2
  • Inpatient Psychiatry6 Blocks
  • Outpatient Psychiatry6 Blocks
  • Personalized Learning in Psychiatry1 Block
PGY-5
  • Personalized learning year in Psychiatry

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Longitudinal Psychotherapy training (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4))
  • Geriatric Psychiatry (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 6 Blocks)
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 6 Blocks)
  • SPMI training (3 blocks inpatient and 3 blocks community/outpatient) (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 6 blocks)
  • Addictions medicine/psychiatry (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 2-3 blocks)
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 3-4 blocks)
  • Collaborative/shared care (Core of Discipline (aka PGY3-4) · 2 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

North Bay, Ontario: 4 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • North Bay
  • Sudbury (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Ste. Marie (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Thunder Bay (Thunder Bay · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie.

Thunder Bay

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About North Bay

  • People

    52,662residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of North Bay

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, North Bay, Ontario (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, North Bay, 8.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about North Bay (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 and 30 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.

11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: North Bay.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
202100
202200
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

NOSM University's Psychiatry Program is a single, integrated program distributed across four primary sites: North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, and Thunder Bay. The program is dedicated to training future psychiatrists who are well-prepared to serve in underserved, rural, and remote communities, with learners gaining valuable experience working with vulnerable populations facing acute and complex mental health and addiction needs.

Research
Residents are expected to complete a research project during residency, with support from a Research Coordinator and opportunities to present at the annual Resident Research Day.
Training setting
A distributed training environment across four northern Ontario sites: North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, and Thunder Bay, with opportunities to train in urban, rural, and remote clinical settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on workplace-based assessment, frequent authentic feedback, and competency-based progression through stages of training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Academic record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Elective experiences
  • Leadership skills
  • Research/publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kathleen Anderson

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officepsychiatry@nosm.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to North Bay

  • Sudbury - PsychiatryNOSM University

    Sudbury · 119 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - PsychiatryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 295 km

    34 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PsychiatryToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 303 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 7 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36495 (CMG stream), 35276 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream