Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Neurology - Pediatric

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Ottawa, 5 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Optional subspecialty outreach clinics in Nunavut at Qikiqtani General Hospital.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Annual pediatric neurology retreat held jointly with McGill and Université de Montréal programs.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year pediatric neurology residency based at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), a tertiary pediatric hospital.
  • Residents also rotate at The Ottawa Hospital for adult neurology, The Ottawa Eye Institute, and the Ottawa Children's Treatment Centre.
  • Residents are expected to do scholarly work and get research blocks for it, and they may choose a one-week outreach clinic in Iqaluit, Nunavut.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • pediatric wards (Transition to Discipline)
  • emergency room (Transition to Discipline)
  • pediatric neurology clinics/wards (Transition to Discipline)
  • Pediatric Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Foundations)
  • Emergency Room (Foundations)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Foundations)
  • Pediatric Neurology and Neurosurgery (Foundations)
  • Genetics and Metabolics (Foundations)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (Foundations)
  • Pediatric Rehabilitation (Foundations)
  • adult neurology rotations (Core · 6 months)
  • Epilepsy/EEG (Core)
  • Neuromuscular/EMG (Core)
  • Neuropathology (Core)
  • Neuroradiology (Core)
  • Neuroophthalmology (Core)
  • research blocks (Core)
  • community neurology rotations (Core)
  • subspecialty electives (Core)
  • Iqaluit, Nunavut outreach clinic (Core · one week · Iqaluit, Nunavut)
  • electives (Transition to Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 5 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campus; Adult Neurology)
  • The Ottawa Eye Institute
  • The Ottawa Children’s Treatment Centre (OCTC; Developmental Pediatrics)
  • Qikiqtani General Hospital (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 5; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campus; Adult Neurology)

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.

3 Neurology - Pediatric info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Ottawa.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamPediatric - Neurology15 years1 date, 30 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Pediatric Neurology Residency Program at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) offers comprehensive training to become a Consultant Academic or Community Pediatric Neurologist.
  • The program provides extensive exposure to a full range of neurological diseases affecting infants, children, and adolescents, with training across multiple subspecialty areas and unique opportunities like international outreach clinics.
Research
Residents are expected to participate in scholarly work, with dedicated research blocks, opportunities to present at conferences, and support from research mentors.
Training setting
Primary training site is the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), a 167-bed tertiary pediatric teaching hospital serving over 1.5 million people in eastern and northern Ontario.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, divided into four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core, and Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV organization and clarity
  • Electives and rotations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Katie Muir

  • Dr. Amanda Yaworski

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Neurology - Pediatric elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 14 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36288 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?