Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Orthopedic Surgery

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
201–400
Offered interviews
51–75%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 26 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Option to complete a Master's in Clinical Science and Translational Medicine in parallel with residency.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Two research projects with manuscripts are required during the core stage.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Orthopedic Surgery program is a 5-year residency whose first two years meet Surgical Foundations requirements.
  • Residents rotate through The Ottawa Hospital, CHEO and Hopital Montfort, with a Community Orthopedics rotation at Hopital de Hull, Sudbury or another approved site.
  • Residents must complete two research projects with manuscripts during the core stage, supported by dedicated research rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orthopedic Surgery (Transition to Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Adult Orthopedics (Foundations · 11 blocks)
  • Community Orthopedics (Foundations · 2 blocks)
  • Pediatric Orthopedics (Foundations · 3 blocks)
  • ICU (Foundations · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 1 block)
  • General Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Vascular Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Plastic Surgery (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Research (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Musculoskeletal Oncology (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Shoulder and Elbow (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Spine Surgery (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Trauma (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Arthroplasty (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Foot and Ankle (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Pediatric Orthopedics (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Hand and Wrist (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Knee Surgery (Core and Transition to Practice)
  • Research (Core and Transition to Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • The Ottawa Hospital: Civic Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital: General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital: Riverside Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Hopital Montfort
  • Hull Hospital (Gatineau)
  • The Ottawa Hospital: Civic Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital: General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital: Riverside Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Hospital Montfort
  • Hull Hospital (Gatineau)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 6 of 7; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital: Civic Campus, The Ottawa Hospital: General Campus, The Ottawa Hospital: Riverside Campus.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hopital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hull Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Hull (Gatineau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,660 · 2026–2027: 14,537 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 230 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

For the other sites: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years1 date, 26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program is a strong clinical program emphasizing solid surgical training and a collegial atmosphere.
  • Residents receive comprehensive exposure to all orthopedic subspecialties across multiple teaching hospitals, with a focus on developing competent, well-rounded orthopedic surgeons.
Research
Residents must complete two research projects with manuscripts during core training, with dedicated research rotations and opportunities to pursue advanced degrees.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Ottawa, including multiple hospital campuses with state-of-the-art facilities and large clinical volumes across pediatric and adult settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based training focused on developing comprehensive orthopedic surgeons through structured rotations, research opportunities, and progressive skill development across multiple subspecialties.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV assessment
  • Electives assessment
  • Examination performance
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Kingston - Orthopedic SurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 146 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    3 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35601 (CMG stream), 36497 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream