Ottawa - Medical Microbiology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 29 Jan – 2 Feb 2027
Ottawa, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Regional reference laboratory serving 18 hospitals with Total Laboratory Automation (BD Kiestra platform).
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Shared academic program with the Adult and Pediatric Infectious Disease residency programs.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Ottawa Medical Microbiology program is a 5-year program organized in 13 blocks of about 4 weeks per year.
- Laboratory training is based at the EORLA Regional Microbiology Reference Laboratory at The Ottawa Hospital General Campus and CHEO, with parasitology at Public Health Ontario Laboratories.
- Residents are expected to complete a research project, with research blocks built into the schedule.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Public health agency
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Internal Medicine or Subspecialties
- Pediatrics
- Family Medicine
- General Surgery
- Emergency Medicine
- PGY-2
- Bacteriology
- Mycobacteriology
- Mycology
- Molecular
- Serology
- Adult and Pediatric Infectious Disease Consult services
Other rotations
- introductory block in the Microbiology Laboratory (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- Adult Infectious Disease (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- General Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- Parasitology (PGY-3 to 4 · Public Health Ontario Laboratories)
- Infectious Disease Consult Service (PGY-3 to 4)
- Infection Control (PGY-3 to 4)
- Antimicrobial Stewardship (PGY-3 to 4)
- Public Health (PGY-3 to 4)
- longitudinal clinic (PGY-3 to 4)
Where you train
Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites.
- Regional Microbiology Reference Laboratory (The Ottawa Hospital – General Campus)
- Regional Microbiology Reference Laboratory (Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario)
- The Ottawa Hospital – General Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital – Civic Campus
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Ottawa Heart Institute
- Public Health Ontario Laboratories
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 7; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Ottawa Heart Institute
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Ottawa
People
1,017,449residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027; 2 Feb 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 2 positions open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 29 Jan – 2 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 27–30 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Ottawa Medical Microbiology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to prepare high-caliber Medical Microbiologists who can provide effective consultation and fulfill clinical roles in community, public health, and academic settings.
- The program offers an integrated, rich academic experience with synergistic collaborations between Adult and Pediatric Infectious Disease training programs.
- Research
- Residents are expected to participate in research projects, with support for conference presentations and diverse research interests including molecular diagnostics, antimicrobial resistance, epidemiology, and infectious diseases.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites including The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campuses) and Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), serving a population of over 3 million across Eastern Ontario.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, focusing on developing residents' skills through targeted learning outcomes, frequent formative assessments, and workplace-based learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic Performance
- Prior laboratory experiences
- Reference letters
- Genuine interest in Medical Microbiology
- Leadership skills
- Communication skills
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Nadia Sant
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Medical Microbiology elsewhere
Nearest to Ottawa
Did this page answer your question?