Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Medical Microbiology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Halifax, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Training lab is the Atlantic reference lab and Nova Scotia provincial lab, with an on-site CL-3 lab.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Senior residents complete junior attending blocks in both ID and medical microbiology.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year Medical Microbiology residency based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, a tertiary and quaternary care centre.
  • Training combines microbiology laboratory blocks, adult and pediatric ID, AMS/IPAC, research blocks and community experience in New Brunswick.
  • The program typically has one to three residents in training at a time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Public health agency
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • introduction to Medical Microbiology (MM) and Infectious Diseases (ID)2 blocks
  • various clinical service blocks9
  • selective blocks2
PGY-2
  • microbiology laboratory training5 blocks
  • adult ID3 blocks
  • pediatric ID1 block
  • antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) or infection prevention and control (IPAC)1 block
  • selective blocks2
  • research block1
PGY-3
  • microbiology laboratory training6 blocks
  • adult ID2 blocks
  • pediatric ID1 block
  • AMS or IPAC1 block
  • ambulatory care1 block
  • community ID1 block
  • selective1 block
PGY-4
  • microbiology laboratory training4 blocks
  • adult ID including 2 blocks ID junior attending4 blocks
  • AMS or IPAC1 block
  • community MM1 block
  • research block1
  • selective blocks2
PGY-5
  • microbiology laboratory training including 2 block MM junior attending7 blocks
  • adult ID1 block
  • public health1 block
  • AMS/IPAC1 block
  • community ID1
  • selective1
  • research block1

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 4 teaching sites.

  • Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC)
  • Halifax Infirmary (HI)
  • Victoria General (VG) Hospital
  • IWK

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4 of 4.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC), Halifax Infirmary (HI), Victoria General (VG) Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC)

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary (HI)

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Victoria General (VG) Hospital

Matched to QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary
Show facts for 1 more sites

IWK

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Ian Davis

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Medical Microbiology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Ottawa - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Toronto - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto, ON · 1,264 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton, ON · 1,311 km

    1 position · CMG

In these collections:

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37064 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?