Skip to content
CdnMD

Montfort - Bilingual - Family Medicine

University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
13 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Montfort, 3 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Optional international medicine elective in Benin (West Africa) or Baffin.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Montfort residents get an additional family-medicine-focused academic day each block.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Teaching clinics include memory, procedures, contraception and gender diversity clinics.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year community-based family medicine program is centred at Hôpital Montfort in Ottawa and serves the francophone minority community of eastern Ontario.
  • Training runs over 26 four-week blocks, including 9 family medicine blocks at Montfort, 2 rural medicine blocks and paediatrics at the children's hospital.
  • Training takes place in a francophone setting, but some rotations and teaching sessions are in English.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Rural / remote
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • médecine familiale (9 blocs · Montfort)
  • médecine interne (2 blocs · Montfort)
  • soins palliatifs (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • urgence (2 blocs · Montfort)
  • obstétrique-gynécologie (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • périnatalité (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • gériatrie (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • rheumatologie (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • psychiatrie (1 bloc · Montfort)
  • médecine rurale (2 blocs)
  • pédiatrie (1 bloc · Hôpital pour enfants)
  • pédiatrie communautaire (1 bloc)
  • électifs (3 blocs · Hôpital d’Ottawa)
  • Médecine internationale (Stages à option · 2 blocs · Afrique de l’Ouest (Bénin); Baffin)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montfort, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks.

  • hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
  • Cemtre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d’Ottawa (Ottawa)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

hôpital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Cemtre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hôpital d’Ottawa

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montfort.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream132 years3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)Nothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
DCM streamMontfort - Médecine familiale132 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • A unique two-year Family Medicine residency program located in the National Capital Region, serving the francophone minority community of Eastern Ontario.
  • The program offers a comprehensive, personalized training experience with a focus on bilingual, community-based medical practice.
Research
Residents are expected to understand and demonstrate quality improvement research skills in primary care.
Training setting
Training occurs in urban Ottawa and rural francophone communities, with clinical experiences at Montfort Hospital, CHEO (Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario), and various community clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education following CanMEDS principles, focusing on developing autonomous, compassionate, and professionally competent family physicians.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF (Family Medicine Professional Choices) test
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montfort - Bilingual

  • Gatineau, QC · 6 km

    18 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • de Mont-Laurier - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    de Mont-Laurier, QC · 126 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Dre Andrée Gagnon (Saint-Jérôme), QC · 138 km

    8 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35334 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?