Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Ottawa, 5 teaching sites · 12 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Optional remote anesthesia placement at Qikiqtani General Hospital in Nunavut.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents join the NOSM FPA summer lecture series by videoconference, with protected time to attend.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 12-month Family Practice Anesthesia residency trains family physicians to provide anesthesia in community settings and leads to eligibility for the CFPC Certificate of Added Competence.
  • Most blocks are at The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO, with community anesthesia blocks in towns such as Perth, Smiths Falls and Winchester.
  • Residents complete a required small scholarly project, and an optional remote placement in Nunavut is available.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Community Anesthesia – Transition to Discipline (2 blocks · Communities in the Ottawa area (e.g. Perth, Smith Falls, Winchester))
  • Junior Anesthesia (3 blocks · The Ottawa Hospital)
  • Obstetrical Anesthesia (1 block · The Ottawa Hospital)
  • Adult ICU (1 block · The Ottawa Hospital)
  • Pediatric Anesthesia (2 blocks · The Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO))
  • Senior Anesthesia (3 blocks · The Ottawa Hospital)
  • Community Anesthesia – Transition to Independent Practice (1 block · Communities in the Ottawa area (e.g. Perth, Smith Falls, Winchester))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 5 teaching sites; 12 rural weeks.

  • The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Perth and Smiths Falls District Hospital (PSFDH) (Perth / Smiths Falls · rural or distributed site)
  • Winchester District Memorial Hospital (WDMH) (Winchester · rural or distributed site)
  • Qikiqtani General Hospital (Nunavut) (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 5; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · frequency “1:4”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Richard Waldolf

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeesfpdfm@uottawa.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34653 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?