Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 11 Nov 2026virtual

Toronto, 11 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Competitive one-month selective in Nunavut focused on Indigenous health in remote regions.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated one-block trauma anesthesia rotation at Sunnybrook Hospital.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional two-week acute on chronic pain management selective at Wasserman Pain Management Centre.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 52-week program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia care for low-risk patients, particularly in smaller rural and underserviced communities.
  • Core training includes 7 blocks of anesthesia at Michael Garron Hospital, obstetrical anesthesia at Mount Sinai, pediatric anesthesia at SickKids, ICU, trauma anesthesia at Sunnybrook and one month at a rural/remote site.
  • Residents complete a scholarly project and Grand Rounds presentation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Anesthesia (7 blocks · Michael Garron Hospital)
  • Obstetrical Anesthesia (2 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital)
  • Pediatric Anesthesia (1 block · The Hospital for Sick Kids)
  • ICU (1 block)
  • Trauma Anesthesia (1 block · Sunnybrook Hospital)
  • FPA-practice (one month · one of four rural/remote sites)
  • one month selective in the community of Nunavut (Selectives · one month · Nunavut)
  • Acute on Chronic Pain Management selective (Selectives · two week · Wasserman Pain Management Centre)
  • Community Hospital Rotation (Anesthesia) (Sample Rotation · 28 Weeks · Michael Garron Hospital)
  • Pediatric Anesthesia (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Hospital for Sick Children)
  • Tertiary Care & High-Risk OB (Sample Rotation · 8 Weeks · Mount Sinai Hospital)
  • Rural Community Hospital (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Port Perry Hospital or Orangeville Hospital)
  • Intensive Care (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Humber River Hospital or Lakeridge Health)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 11 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • The Hospital for Sick Kids
  • Sunnybrook Hospital
  • Lakeridge Health
  • Humber River Hospital
  • Wasserman Pain Management Centre
  • Lakeridge Health – Port Perry (Port Perry · rural or distributed site)
  • Headwaters Health Care Centre (Orangeville · rural or distributed site)
  • Georgian Bay General Hospital -Midland (Midland · rural or distributed site)
  • Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital (Orillia · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 11, MEDITECH at 2, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 5.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Hospital (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

Lakeridge Health

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 3 more sites

Humber River Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Headwaters Health Care Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
11 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “up to 7 overnight calls per month”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Razvan Purza

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officefammed.enhanced@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 14 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34630 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?