Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Dermatology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; “Language of instruction at medical school being English.” details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 4 Feb 2027virtual

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Senior residents can join week-long dermatology clinics in Iqaluit, fully sponsored by the Nunavut government.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The Division pays for voluntary American Board of Dermatology practice exams.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Dermatology program is a five-year residency based at The Ottawa Hospital's Civic, General and Riverside campuses, with further rotations at CHEO, community offices, Dynacare and Laserderm.
  • Training is mostly outpatient, with dermatopathology blocks in PGY 2-5 and call taken from home.
  • Each year, 1-2 senior residents may join a staff dermatologist for a week of clinics in Iqaluit, sponsored by the Nunavut government.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • dermatology3 blocks
  • internal medicine inpatients2 blocks
  • pediatric inpatients1 blocks
  • adult emerg1 block
  • pediatric emerg1 block
  • vascular1 block
  • plastics1 block
  • rheumatology1 block
  • infectious disease1 block
  • family medicine1 block
PGY-2
  • dermatology7 blocks
  • rheumatology1 block
  • allergy/immunology1 block
  • ambulatory pediatrics1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block
  • elective1 block
  • Mohs1
PGY-3
  • dermatology11 blocks
  • dermatopathology1 block
  • elective1 block
PGY-4
  • dermatology9 blocks
  • elective2 blocks
  • laser / cosmetic dermatology1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block
PGY-5
  • dermatology7 blocks
  • elective3 blocks
  • transitions to practice1 block
  • laser / cosmetic dermatology1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block
PGY-1
  • dermatology3 blocks
  • internal medicine2 blocks
  • pediatrics wards1 blocks
  • adult emerg1 block
  • pediatric emerg1 block
  • vascular1 block
  • plastics1 block
  • rheumatology1 block
  • infectious disease1 block
  • family medicine1 block
PGY-2
  • dermatology7 blocks
  • rheumatology1 block
  • Mohs1 block
  • allergy/immunology1 block
  • ambulatory pediatrics/medicine1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block
  • elective1 elective block
PGY-3
  • dermatology11 blocks
  • dermatopathology1 block
  • elective1 elective block
PGY-4
  • dermatology9 blocks
  • elective2 elective blocks
  • laser / cosmetic dermatology1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block
PGY-5
  • dermatology7 blocks
  • elective3 elective blocks
  • transitions to practice1 block
  • laser / cosmetic dermatology1 block
  • dermatopathology1 block

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation. A car is recommended.

  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Victoria Park Laserderm
  • Dynacare Laboratories (Dermatopathology)
  • Community Dermatology offices
  • Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre (ORCC)
  • Ottawa Derm Centre
  • Iqaluit (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Victoria Park Laserderm
  • Dynacare Laboratories (Dermatopathology)
  • Community Dermatology Offices
  • Elisabeth Bruyere Hospital
  • Ottawa Derm Centre
  • Charlie Logue Dermatology Centre of Excellence
  • Iqaluit (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 1 of 10; no published record for 9.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • “Language of instruction at medical school being English.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Dermatology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
Home call
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Ottawa.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 years1 date, 6 Feb 2025
IMG stream15 years1 date, 6 Feb 2025
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa's Dermatology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce competent, safe, and compassionate consultant dermatologists.
  • The program provides broad-based and balanced exposure to all aspects of dermatology, with a strong emphasis on clinical skills, research, and professional development across multiple clinical settings.
Research
Residents are strongly encouraged to prepare papers for presentation/publication, with opportunities for additional research projects aligned with their interests.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban hospital sites in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital (Civic, General, and Riverside Campuses), Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), and various specialized clinics and community offices.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on progressive independence, with iterative exposure to and feedback on CanMEDS roles: medical expert, communicator, collaborator, leader, health advocate, scholar, and professional.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • CV
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Elective experiences
  • Research/publications
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Dermatology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Montreal - DermatologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 166 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - DermatologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Halifax - DermatologyDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 955 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35429 (CMG stream), 35819 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream