Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Dermatology

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 10 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Describes itself as the largest dermatology training faculty in Canada.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Required 4-week Tropical Medicine rotation at Toronto General Hospital in PGY2.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Incoming residents may tailor early stages toward an increased focus on general pediatrics.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year dermatology residency at the University of Toronto, established in 1964.
  • PGY1 and PGY2 cover internal medicine, pediatrics and introductory dermatology rotations, followed by three dedicated dermatology years.
  • Training takes place at five main Toronto teaching sites, with community dermatology rotations in PGY2 and PGY5.
  • Up to 6 months of elective or dedicated research time is available in the senior years.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • General MedicineSt. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • General PediatricsHospital For Sick Children, St. Joseph's Health Centre, St. Michael's Hospital, various community clinics8 Weeks
  • Emergency MedicineMt. Sinai Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • Infectious DiseasesSt. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • RheumatologyMt. Sinai Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • Introductory DermatologySunnybrook, University Health Network, Women's College Hospital4 weeks
  • Allergy and ImmunologySt. Michael's Hospital4 weeks
  • Outpatient Experience 1 (Pigmented Lesions, Phototherapy, Mouth Clinic, Wound Care, Lymphoma Clinic)Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital4 weeks
PGY-2
  • DermatologySt. Joseph's Health Centre, Sunnybrook, University Health Network, Women's College Hospital16 weeks
  • Community, Cosmetic, and Contact DermatitisSunnybrook and various community offices8 weeks
  • Plastic SurgerySt. Joseph's Health Centre, St. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital8 weeks
  • Tropical MedicineToronto General Hospital4 weeks
  • Clinicopathologic CorrelationSt. Joseph's Health Centre for dermatology and dermatopathology components4 weeks
  • Wound CareWomen's College Hospital4 weeks
  • Pediatric DermatologyHospital for Sick Children4 weeks
  • Outpatient Experience 2 (Melanoma, Phototherapy, Cutaneous Oncology, Wound Care)Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital4 weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Clinic Dermatology including inpatient and outpatient exposure (PGY3 to 5 · 15 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, Women's College Hospital)
  • Pediatric Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 4.5 months · Hospital For Sick Children)
  • Dermatopathology (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · University Health Network, Women's College Hospital)
  • Dermatologic Surgery (PGY3 to 5 · 3 months · Women's College Hospital)
  • Elective or Dedicated Research Time (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · Various sites)
  • Community Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 1.5 months · Community)
  • Senior Resident Clinic (concurrent in PGY4 or PGY5 years) (PGY3 to 5 · 3–12 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, or Women's College Hospital)
PGY-1
  • General MedicineSt. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • General PediatricsHospital For Sick Children, St. Joseph's Health Centre, St. Michael's Hospital, and various community clinics8 Weeks
  • Emergency MedicineMt. Sinai Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • Infectious DiseasesSt. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • RheumatologyMt. Sinai Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, University Health Network8 weeks
  • DermatologySunnybrook, University Health Network, Women's College Hospital4 weeks
  • Allergy and ImmunologySt. Michael's Hospital4 weeks
  • Outpatient Experience 1 (Pigmented Lesions, Phototherapy, Mouth Clinic, Wound Care, Lymphoma Clinic)Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital4 weeks
PGY-2
  • DermatologySt. Joseph's Health Centre, Sunnybrook, University Health Network, Women's College Hospital16 weeks
  • Community, Cosmetic, and Contact DermatitisSunnybrook and various community offices8 weeks
  • Plastic SurgerySt. Joseph's Health Centre, St. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital8 weeks
  • Tropical MedicineToronto General Hospital4 weeks
  • Clinicopathologic CorrelationHospital practice for both dermatology and dermatopathology components4 weeks
  • Wound CareWomen's College Hospital4 weeks
  • Pediatric DermatologyHospital for Sick Children4 weeks
  • Outpatient Experience 2 (Melanoma, Phototherapy, Cutaneous Oncology, Wound Care)Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook, Women's College Hospital4 weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Clinic Dermatology including inpatient and outpatient exposure (PGY3 to 5 · 15 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, Women's College Hospital)
  • Pediatric Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 4.5 months · Hospital For Sick Children)
  • Dermatopathology (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · University Health Network, Women's College Hospital)
  • Dermatologic Surgery (PGY3 to 5 · 3 months · Women's College Hospital)
  • Elective or Dedicated Research Time (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · Various sites)
  • Community Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 1.5 months · Community)
  • Senior Resident Clinic (PGY5) (PGY3 to 5 · 3–12 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, or Women's College Hospital)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 10 teaching sites.

  • Hospital for Sick Children
  • St. Joseph's Health Centre
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • University Health Network
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • Women's College Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Mt. Sinai Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 8 of 10, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mt. Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

9 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At St. Joseph's Health Centre, St. Michael's Hospital.
Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At University Health Network, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital.

Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

Mt. Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Dermatology Residency Program provides an outstanding, broad-based education in dermatology.
  • Established in 1964, it is the largest dermatology training facility in Canada and one of the largest globally.
  • The program offers comprehensive clinical education encompassing medical and surgical approaches to skin disorders across diverse patient populations.
Research
Residents are encouraged to participate in research, with potential for dedicated research time during PGY4-5, covering basic science, clinical, and health systems research.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Toronto, including multiple teaching hospitals with diverse clinical environments and specialized clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing CanMEDs competencies, staff-led lectures, workshops, and longitudinal learning across different training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Elective experiences
  • Research/Publications
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Leadership skills
  • Extra-curricular involvement

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Philip Doiron

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officedermatology@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Dermatology elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Ottawa - DermatologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 352 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Montreal - DermatologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 504 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Halifax - DermatologyDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 1,264 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36383 (CMG stream), 36110 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream