Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Anesthesiology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
10 positions
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Recent clinical experience (within 3 years); “Only candidates that have demonstrated exposure to anesthesia will be considered, for…”; “At least one reference letter must be from an anesthesiologist.” details under How they choose

Interviews

2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • First centre in Canada with a formal perioperative echocardiography program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Includes a Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Unit and a model Pre-Admission Unit.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional enrichment pathway allows residents to pursue endeavours outside the standard curriculum.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Anesthesiology residency is a 5-year competency-based program, first launched in July 2015.
  • Foundations opens with a simulation-heavy Anesthesia Bootcamp, and Core uses a spiral curriculum with junior and senior sub-specialty rotations.
  • Training takes place at Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, with community rotations at Queensway Carleton and Montfort hospitals.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • general orientation and exposure to the operating rooms, acute pain service and pre-admission unit (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • Anesthesia Bootcamp (Foundations)
  • general OR setting (Foundations)
  • Pre-Anesthesia Unit (PAU) (Foundations)
  • Acute Pain Service (Foundations)
  • Trauma (Foundations)
  • ICU (Foundations)
  • Emergency (Foundations)
  • Pediatric ER (Foundations)
  • Ambulatory Anesthesia (Foundations)
  • Respirology (Foundations)
  • Cardiology (Foundations)
  • Obstetrical unit (Foundations)
  • Chronic pain (Core)
  • vascular anesthesia (Core)
  • regional anesthesia (Core)
  • obstetrical anesthesia (Core)
  • thoracic anesthesia (Core)
  • neuro anesthesia (Core)
  • cardiac anesthesia (Core)
  • Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites.

  • Ottawa Hospital, General Campus
  • Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus
  • Ottawa Hospital, Riverside Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • Queensway Carleton Hospital
  • Montfort Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 7.

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Ottawa Hospital, General Campus, Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus, Ottawa Hospital, Riverside Campus.
Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Queensway Carleton Hospital, Montfort Hospital.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Recent clinical experience (within 3 years)
  • “Only candidates that have demonstrated exposure to anesthesia will be considered, for example; having completed electives in a n es th es iolog y, and/or advanced training etc.”
  • “At least one reference letter must be from an anesthesiologist.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 and 19 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Ottawa.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20232 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream105 years2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream105 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
IMG stream25 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Anesthesiology Residency Program is a national leader in anesthesia education, offering a flexible and comprehensive 5-year training experience.
  • The program prides itself on being small enough to individualize resident experiences while large enough to provide a full range of anesthesia and tertiary care experiences.
Research
Strong research agenda focusing on perioperative care, pain management, and medical education with support for conference attendance and research presentations.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites in Ottawa, including tertiary care centers, children's hospital, and community hospitals.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered competency-based education focused on progressive skill development, reflective practice, and achieving entrustable professional activities (EPAs) through frequent formative assessments.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Curriculum Vitae
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Montfort - Bilingual · 0 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual
  • Kingston - AnesthesiologyQueen’s University

    Kingston · 146 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Montreal - AnesthesiologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 166 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 6 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 6 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35841 (CMG stream), 35800 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream