Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Psychiatry

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
30 positions+2 from 28 in the 2026 match
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
51–75%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Thu 19 Nov 2026,2:00 pm EDT

Interviews

2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027virtual

Toronto, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Clinician Scientist Program offering half a day per week of protected research time plus a graduate stream.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Training in the Royal College Area of Focused Competence in Addiction Medicine, with more in development.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year psychiatry residency with core rotations at fully affiliated hospitals across the Greater Toronto Area.
  • PGY1 begins with a transition curriculum called Ground School, followed by 12 four-week blocks across several disciplines.
  • Residents can join a Clinician Scientist Program with half a day per week of protected research time, or a Clinician Scholar Program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

PGY-1
  • psychiatry5 blocks
  • general internal medicine2 blocks
  • cognitive neurology1 block
  • emergency medicine1 block
  • palliative care1 block
  • neurology1 block
  • family medicine or pediatrics1 block
  • Ground School
  • Half-day Outpatient Psychiatry Experience

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page. A car is recommended.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 and 5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream305 years2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 28 → 30 from the 2026 match
IMG stream45 years2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream285 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
IMG stream45 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
Indigenous streamIndigenous communities - Psychiatry25 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Psychiatry Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience with exceptional breadth and depth.
  • Located in the Greater Toronto Area, the program leverages its large academic network to provide innovative, competency-based medical education with strong research and clinical training opportunities.
Research
Extensive research opportunities through Clinician Scientist and Clinician Scholar Programs, with protected research time, mentorship, and funding for conference travel.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple hospitals in the Greater Toronto Area, with core rotations at fully affiliated hospitals and opportunities for elective experiences across various clinical settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on progressive learning, professional development, personalized learning experiences, and fostering lifelong learning through coaching, mentorship, and continuous performance improvement.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Electives consideration
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Adrienne Tan

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PsychiatryToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 22 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - PsychiatryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 59 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Waterloo - PsychiatryMcMaster University

    Waterloo · 94 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35614 (CMG stream), 36129 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream