Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Pediatrics

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
15 positions+1 from 14 in the 2026 match
5 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

7 dates, 25 Jan – 3 Feb 2027virtual

2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 13 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Each year 1-2 residents can apply for a concentrated research block of up to 3 months in PGY2.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • A resident-run advocacy program with faculty oversight, plus social paediatrics taught throughout the curriculum.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Toronto Paediatrics residency is a 4-year program, with much of the training at The Hospital for Sick Children plus community affiliates.
  • Residents must complete at least one scholarly project, with two weeks of protected time in first year.
  • Call in PGY2 and PGY3 runs on a night float system.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Care of the Newborn
  • Community Paediatrics
  • Paediatric Emergency
  • Paediatric Infectious Disease
  • Immunology and Allergy/Dermatology
  • Paediatric In-Patient
  • Paediatric General Surgery
  • Paediatric Urology
  • Research
PGY-2
  • electivefour week
  • selective or research blocks2 two-week
  • paediatric cardiology
  • developmental paediatrics
  • endocrinology
  • gastroenterology/clinical nutrition
  • oncology
  • nephrology
  • neurology
  • respirology
  • rheumatology
  • neonatal intensive care
PGY-3
  • electivefour week
  • selective/research blockstwo 2-week
  • general paediatric unit
  • emergency room medicine
  • neonatal-perinatal medicine (Level III)
  • neonatal medicine (Level II - community)
  • genetics-metabolics
  • suspected child abuse and neglect
  • mental health
  • ambulatory experience
  • paediatric intensive care unit
  • Code Blue Team
PGY-4
  • TTP curriculumapproximately 9 blocks
  • Community Paediatric rotations
PGY-1
  • Researchtwo-weeks
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Care of the Newborn
  • Community Paediatrics
  • Paediatric Emergency
  • Paediatric Infectious Disease
  • Immunology and Allergy/Dermatology
  • Paediatric In-Patient
  • Paediatric General Surgery
  • Paediatric Urology
PGY-2
  • electivefour week
  • selective or research blocks2 two-week
  • paediatric cardiology
  • developmental paediatrics
  • endocrinology
  • gastroenterology/clinical nutrition
  • oncology
  • nephrology
  • neurology
  • respirology
  • rheumatology
  • neonatal intensive care
PGY-3
  • electivefour week
  • selective/research blockstwo 2-week
  • general paediatric unit
  • emergency room medicine
  • neonatal-perinatal medicine (Level III)
  • neonatal medicine (Level II - community)
  • genetics-metabolics
  • suspected child abuse and neglect
  • mental health
  • ambulatory experience
  • paediatric intensive care unit
PGY-4
  • TTP curriculumapproximately 9 blocks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 13 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
  • Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital (Orillia · rural or distributed site)
  • Royal Victoria Regional Health (rural or distributed site)
  • Owen Sound Regional Hospital (Owen Sound · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre for Addiction and Mental Health - CAMH
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 13 sites
  • SickKids Center for Community Mental Health

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 13, MEDITECH at 1, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

9 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital, Owen Sound Regional Hospital.

The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 4 more sites

Royal Victoria Regional Health

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027; 1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream154 years7 dates, 25 Jan – 3 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 14 → 15 from the 2026 match
IMG stream54 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream145 years7 dates, 26 Jan – 4 Feb 2026
IMG stream55 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto's Core Paediatric Residency Program offers comprehensive training in pediatrics across diverse clinical settings.
  • Located primarily at The Hospital for Sick Children, the program provides broad-based clinical and academic training with a focus on creating exceptional general and subspecialty pediatricians.
  • Residents benefit from an inclusive, supportive environment with extensive research opportunities and a commitment to advocacy and social responsibility.
Research
Residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project, with dedicated research time, mentorship, and opportunities for concentrated research blocks.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites across Toronto, including tertiary and community hospitals. Training occurs at 13 different sites, with primary focus on The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids).
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing the seven CanMEDS roles and providing graded responsibility throughout the four-year training program.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Mini Personal Interviews (MPI)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kevin Weingarten

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officepaeds.residencyprogram@sickkids.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PediatricsToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 22 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - PediatricsMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 59 km

    13 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Waterloo - PediatricsMcMaster University

    Waterloo · 94 km

    1 position · CMG

In these collections:

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35443 (CMG stream), 36486 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream