Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Pediatrics

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions+1 from 7 in the 2026 match
5 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
201–400
Offered interviews
51–75%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

3 dates, 29 Jan – 2 Feb 2027virtual

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 4 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Early-established Social Pediatrics rotation focused on social determinants of health and advocacy.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal CanMEDS Competencies (LCC) small-group curriculum on non-medical-expert roles.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Final-year CTU rotation in a Junior Attending role.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's 4-year pediatrics residency trains most residents at McMaster Children's Hospital in Hamilton.
  • Community pediatrics rotations are mandatory and take place in nearby communities such as Brampton, Niagara, Kitchener-Waterloo, Brantford, Burlington and Oakville.
  • All residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project, and call combines 24-hour shifts with night float.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Transition to Discipline · McMaster Children's Hospital)
  • Community Pediatrics in local community hospital OR Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline)
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) at McMaster Children's Hospital and Level II Nursery at St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton (Foundations of Discipline · 8 weeks · McMaster Children's Hospital; St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton)
  • Community Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 4 weeks · local community hospital)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks · McMaster Children's Hospital)
  • Pediatric Neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Chronic Complex Care (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Pediatric Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Pediatric Hematology/Oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care (Foundations of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Genetics/Metabolics (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Social Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Pediatric Critical Care Medicine (Core of Discipline · 8 weeks total)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Level III Nursery) (Core of Discipline · 8 weeks total)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 6 weeks)
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) in Senior Resident role (Core of Discipline · 8 weeks)
  • Community Pediatrics (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks · local community hospitals including rural/remote opportunities)
  • Pediatric Mental Health (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Adolescent Medicine (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Cardiology (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Endocrinology (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Gastroenterology (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Genetics/Metabolics (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Child Maltreatment (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Nephrology (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Respirology (Core of Discipline · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Allergy/Immunology (Core of Discipline · 2 weeks)
  • Senior Night Float in 2-week blocks in both CTU and Subspecialty/Critical Care (Core of Discipline)
  • Electives (Core of Discipline · 12 weeks total)
  • Integrated Pediatrics (Core of Discipline)
  • Quality of Life and Advanced Care team (Pediatric Palliative Care) (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 2-4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Complex Care (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 4 weeks)
  • Level II Nursery (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 4 weeks)
  • Community Pediatrics (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 4 weeks · local community hospital)
  • Senior Night Float in 2-week blocks in both CTU and Subspecialty/Critical Care (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 4 weeks)
  • Electives (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 4 weeks)
  • Integrated Pediatrics (Transition to Practice (TTP))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 4 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • McMaster Children's Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton
  • Ron Joyce Children's Health Centre
  • Community sites (Brampton, Kitchener-Waterloo, Niagara, Brantford, Burlington, Oakville) (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 4; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

McMaster Children's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton

Clinical record
Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 Jan 2027; 1 and 2 Feb 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream84 years3 dates, 29 Jan – 2 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 7 → 8 from the 2026 match
IMG stream54 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream75 years4 dates, 13 Jan – 3 Feb 2026
IMG stream55 years2 dates, 13–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster University's Pediatric Residency Program offers exceptional, flexible training in clinical pediatrics, advocacy, scholarly work, and education.
  • The program accepts 10-12 residents per year and provides comprehensive training across various pediatric disciplines, emphasizing social accountability, research, and resident wellness.
Research
Residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project, with protected research time, mentorship, and competitive funding available through the Resident Research Committee.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at McMaster Children's Hospital in Hamilton, with additional rotations in community sites including Brampton, Kitchener-Waterloo, Niagara, Brantford, Burlington, and Oakville.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on progressive responsibility, flexible learning paths, and comprehensive development across CanMEDS roles with frequent formative assessments and targeted learning outcomes.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • CV/Scholarly work
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Senior Education Program Associate

Write to the officepeded@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PediatricsToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 41 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Waterloo - PediatricsMcMaster University

    Waterloo · 57 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Toronto - PediatricsUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    20 positions · CMG, IMG

In these collections:

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35641 (CMG stream), 35630 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream