Skip to content
CdnMD

Integrated Communities - Family Medicine

University of TorontoIntegrated Communities, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions+1 from 5 in the 2026 match
2 positions−1 from 3 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Interviews

4 dates, 18–25 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 15 Jan 2027virtual

Integrated Communities, 5 teaching sites2 teaching sites

A car is required

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Split model: PGY1 at a Toronto community hospital, then PGY2 based in a mid-Ontario community.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Toronto Family Medicine stream places residents for PGY1 at a Toronto community teaching hospital and for PGY2 in Alliston, Orangeville or Port Perry.
  • PGY2 is a horizontal program with 4 or 5 half days of Family Medicine per week.
  • Residents must complete an academic project, and access to a car is required.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Women's Health
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Other
Getting around
  • A car is required

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Foundations of Family Medicine (one-month)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Integrated Communities, Ontario: 5 teaching sites2 teaching sites. A car is required.

Also trains in: Alliston, Orangeville, Port Perry

  • North York General Hospital (NYGH) (Toronto)
  • Toronto East Health Network – Michael Garron Hospital (TEHN) (Toronto)
  • Alliston (Alliston · rural or distributed site)
  • Orangeville (Orangeville · rural or distributed site)
  • Port Perry (Port Perry · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

  • North York General Hospital (NYGH) (Toronto)
  • Toronto East Health Network – Michael Garron Hospital (TEHN) (Toronto)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5, MEDITECH at 2, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

North York General Hospital (NYGH)

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Alliston

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record As of 31 Oct 2026

Orangeville

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

Port Perry

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 21 and 25 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream62 years4 dates, 18–25 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 5 → 6 from the 2026 match
IMG stream22 years1 date, 15 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 3 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream52 years4 dates, 19–26 Jan 2026
IMG stream32 years1 date, 16 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto's Department of Family & Community Medicine offers an innovative Integrated Communities Stream designed to prepare comprehensive Family Medicine residents.
  • This two-year program combines one year of training in a Toronto community teaching hospital with one year in a mid-Ontario community, providing a unique and comprehensive learning experience.
Research
Residents are required to complete an academic project by the end of their second year, which can include research, educational material development, audits, or critical reviews.
Training setting
Training occurs in two primary settings: first year in Toronto community teaching hospitals (Toronto East Health Network or North York General Hospital), and second year in one of three Ontario communities - Alliston, Orangeville, or Port Perry.
Teaching approach
A learner-centered, competency-based approach using the CanMEDS-FM framework, focusing on developing comprehensive generalists with skills and knowledge relevant to their specific context.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC (Family Medicine Professional Choices Assessment)
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Letters
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Admissions and Recruitment Officer, Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator

Write to the officedfcm.admissions@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Integrated Communities

  • Greater Toronto Area · 13 km

    145 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 22 km

    48 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Markham or Newmarket · 23 km

    18 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36183 (CMG stream), 35926 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream