Skip to content
CdnMD

Peel & Surrounding Communities - Family Medicine

Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
24 positions+4 from 20 in the 2026 match
24 positions+4 from 20 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
51–200
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Fri 13 Nov 2026,9:00 am ET

Interviews

8 dates, 16 Jan – 4 Feb 2027virtual

1 date, 15 Jan 2027virtual

Peel & Surrounding Communities, 8 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is recommended

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • LEARN Time: protected time for leadership, education, advocacy, research and non-clinical experiential learning.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Two-block rotation combining rural medicine and Indigenous health in PGY-2.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year family medicine residency at Toronto Metropolitan University focused on the primary care needs of diverse and underserved populations in Peel and surrounding communities.
  • Six of the eight family medicine blocks are spent in the same community teaching clinic, with two in urgent care or walk-in clinics.
  • Training sites are distributed across the region, PGY-2 includes an 8-week Rural Medicine & Indigenous Health rotation, and residents complete a required QI project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Underserved urban
  • Rural / remote
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine4 Blocks (16 weeks)
  • FM Subspecialties2 Mixed Blocks (8 weeks)
  • Hospital-based Pediatrics1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Medicine1 Block (4 weeks)
  • FM Hospitalist1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Family Medicine Extracurricular (ETC.)1 Block (4 weeks includes PARO time off)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Mental Health1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block (4 weeks)
PGY-2
  • Electives4 Blocks (16 weeks)
  • Family Medicine - Urgent Care2 Blocks (8 weeks)
  • Family Medicine2 Blocks (8 weeks)
  • Rural Medicine & Indigenous Health2 Blocks (8 weeks)
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Care of the Elderly (2 weeks)/Palliative Care (2 weeks) - Inpatient1 Block (4 weeks)
  • Family Medicine Extracurricular (ETC.)1 Block (4 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario: 8 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Headwaters Health Care Centre
  • Hennick Humber Hospital
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Peel Region
  • ErinoakKids
  • Michael Garron Hospital

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 8, MEDITECH at 2; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

William Osler Health System

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Headwaters Health Care Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

Halton Healthcare

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

This location covers more than one place, so its figures are on each place’s own page.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
16, 18, 19, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2 and 4 Feb 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream242 years8 dates, 16 Jan – 4 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 20 → 24 from the 2026 match
IMG stream242 years1 date, 15 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 20 → 24 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream202 years4 dates, 19–29 Jan 2026
IMG stream202 years1 date, 16 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Toronto Metropolitan University Family Medicine Residency Program is a comprehensive two-year training program focused on community-engaged education and serving diverse populations in Peel and surrounding communities.
  • The program emphasizes equity, diversity, inclusion, and social accountability, preparing residents to become compassionate, skilled family physicians who can address complex healthcare needs.
Research
Residents are encouraged to engage in research, quality improvement projects, and scholarly activities, with dedicated time and faculty support provided.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and rural sites in Peel and surrounding communities, including community clinics, hospitals, and various healthcare settings. Residents will travel to different locations and work in diverse clinical environments.
Teaching approach
The program uses a competency-based medical education approach emphasizing progressive independence, interprofessional learning, and a holistic approach to patient care. Residents are encouraged to develop skills through experiential learning, reflection, and continuous improvement.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC Score
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference Letters
  • Personal Letter
  • Regional Connection Attestation
  • Interview Performance
  • Leadership Experience
  • Community Engagement

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Jobin Varughese

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepgme.fm@torontomu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Peel & Surrounding Communities

  • Halton - Family MedicineMcMaster University

    Halton · 17 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Greater Toronto Area · 18 km

    145 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Brampton - Family MedicineMcMaster University

    Brampton · 18 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

    City

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 13 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36512 (CMG stream), 36055 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: IMG stream: Reference documents: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • IMG stream: Reference documents: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream