Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Internal Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
18 positions
3 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirements: “All International Medical Graduates are required to participate in a mandatory two-week…”; “All IMGs entering a training program already holding a return of service obligation must…” details under How they choose

Interviews

5 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Winnipeg, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • No subspecialty wards except Cardiology and Respirology, so CTU patients are highly varied and acute.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Lower-acuity 'D Medicine' CTU block where PGY1s work directly with an attending, without other juniors.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 3-year core Internal Medicine program training at two tertiary hospitals and one community hospital in Winnipeg.
  • Apart from Cardiology and Respirology there are no subspecialty wards, so general medicine CTUs take admissions from all subspecialties.
  • Residents use a night float system, completing 6-8 weeks over PGY2/PGY3, and must complete one scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Early independence
  • Small program
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • General Cardiologytwo blocks
  • respirologyone block
  • neurology
  • ICU/ER
PGY-2
  • Community General Internal Medicinethe Grace
PGY-3
  • General Internal Medicine consult service2-3-blocks
  • Ambulatory Careone block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Night float (PGY2/PGY3 · 6-8 weeks)
  • Coronary Care Unit (CCU) (PGY1/PGY2 · block)
  • Medical Intensive Care Unit (PGY2/PGY3 · Two blocks)
  • research electives (1-2 periods)
PGY-1
  • General Cardiologytwo blocks
  • respirologyone block
  • neurology
  • ICU/ER
PGY-2
  • ward seniors3 blocks
  • Community General Internal MedicineGrace
PGY-3
  • General Internal Medicine consult service2-3-blocks
  • ward seniors2 blocks
  • Ambulatory Careone block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Night float (PGY2/PGY3 · 6-8 weeks)
  • Coronary Care Unit (CCU) (PGY1/PGY2 · A third block)
  • Medical Intensive Care Unit (PGY2/PGY3 · Two blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 3 teaching sites.

  • Health Sciences Centre (HSC)
  • St. Boniface General Hospital (St B)
  • Grace General Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 3 of 3.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre (HSC); St. Boniface General Hospital (St B); Grace General Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre (HSC), St. Boniface General Hospital (St B), Grace General Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • “All International Medical Graduates are required to participate in a mandatory two-week orientation the last two weeks of June preceding the commencement of the program start date of July 1.”
  • “All IMGs entering a training program already holding a return of service obligation must disclose this obligation at the time of application.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1 and 2 Feb 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream183 years5 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)Nothing noted
IMG stream33 years5 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)Nothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream185 years7 dates, 9 Jan – 4 Feb 2026
IMG stream35 years7 dates, 9 Jan – 4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba Internal Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive training across three hospital sites, serving a catchment area of over 1.5 million people.
  • The program emphasizes broad clinical experience, progressive responsibility, and developing competent internal medicine physicians through diverse patient exposures and a structured educational curriculum.
Research
Residents can devote 1-2 blocks to research, with opportunities in every area of internal medicine and conference funding for presenting findings.
Training setting
Training occurs across three hospitals in Winnipeg: Health Sciences Centre (tertiary care), St. Boniface General Hospital (tertiary care), and Grace General Hospital (community hospital), providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
The program uses Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME), focusing on progressive learning, frequent formative assessments, and developing residents' skills through targeted milestones and workplace-based learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical school performance record
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Electives
  • Interview performance
  • Academic achievements
  • Scholarly activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Regina - Internal MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina, SK · 536 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Thunder Bay, ON · 598 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Saskatoon - Internal MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 711 km

    19 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35327 (CMG stream), 36404 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream