Skip to content
CdnMD

Thunder Bay - Internal Medicine

NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Tue 17 Nov 2026,7:00 pm ET

Interviews

3 dates, 27–30 Jan 2027virtual

Thunder Bay, 11 teaching sites1 teaching site · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Required community GIM blocks at distributed Northern Ontario sites such as Kenora, Parry Sound and Huntsville.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Thunder Bay MCTU team provides a hospital procedure service including paracentesis, thoracentesis and lumbar puncture.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University's Internal Medicine residency is a 4-year program with two main training sites, Sudbury and Thunder Bay, and residents home-base at their matched site.
  • At least 2 blocks of community general internal medicine must be completed in NOSM communities outside Sudbury or Thunder Bay.
  • All residents must complete a research or scholarly project and present it at the Resident Research Day in PGY3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • MCTU (Medical Clinical Teaching Unit) (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 4 rotations)
  • Cardiology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 2)
  • Nephrology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Subspecialty (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 3)
  • Foundational ICU (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Geriatrics (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • MCTU (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
  • Community GIM (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
  • Electives/Selectives (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
  • MCTU (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
  • Ambulatory GIM (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
  • Electives/Selectives (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
  • Community GIM (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Nephrology (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Medical Oncology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Respirology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Subspecialty (Core 1 or Core 2 · 3)
  • Electives (Core 1 or Core 2 · 5)
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Hematology
  • Infectious Disease
  • Neurology
  • Rheumatology

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • MCTU (Medical Clinical Teaching Unit) (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 4)
  • Cardiology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 2)
  • Nephrology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Subspecialty (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 3)
  • Foundational ICU (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Geriatrics (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
  • Electives/Selectives (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
  • MCTU (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
  • Community GIM (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
  • Electives/Selectives (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
  • MCTU (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
  • Ambulatory GIM (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
  • Community GIM (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Nephrology (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Medical Oncology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Respirology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
  • Subspecialty (Core 1 or Core 2 · 3)
  • Electives (Core 1 or Core 2 · 5)
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Hematology
  • Infectious Disease
  • Neurology
  • Rheumatology

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Thunder Bay, Ontario: 11 teaching sites1 teaching site; optional rural rotation.

  • Thunder Bay
  • Sudbury (Sudbury)
  • Huntsville (Huntsville · rural or distributed site)
  • North Bay (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Parry Sound (Parry Sound · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Ste. Marie (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Kenora (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
  • Temiskaming Shores (Temiskaming Shores · rural or distributed site)
  • Timmins (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
  • Orillia (Orillia · rural or distributed site)
  • Ottawa (Ottawa)

Distributed across a region

  • Health Sciences North (Sudbury)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: MEDITECH at 7 of 12, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 3.

Moving to a new system: Kenora; Timmins; Health Sciences North.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Huntsville, Orillia.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay, Parry Sound, Sault Ste. Marie.

Thunder Bay

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Kenora

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Timmins

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Thunder Bay

  • People

    108,843residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Thunder Bay

  • Housing

    3.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Thunder Bay, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −13.4 °CJanuary mean18.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Thunder Bay, 6.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Thunder Bay (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27, 28 and 30 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “1 in 4 to 1 in 5”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Thunder Bay.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream44 years3 dates, 27–30 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream14 years3 dates, 27–30 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years4 dates, 3 Nov 2025 – 31 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • NOSM University's Internal Medicine residency program offers a comprehensive clinical curriculum with core and subspecialty rotations across Northern Ontario.
  • The program provides residents with diverse training experiences, preparing them to become well-rounded general internists capable of practicing in various clinical settings, including urban, rural, and remote communities.
Research
Residents participate in a research curriculum with dedicated research advisor, research assistant, and research librarian. One or two four-week research blocks available, with expectation of completing a scholarly project.
Training setting
Two main training sites in Sudbury and Thunder Bay, with opportunities for rotations across multiple Northern Ontario communities. Residents will experience diverse clinical environments including Medical Clinical Teaching Units (MCTU), community hospitals, and rural clinics.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered, self-directed training with progressive independence, focusing on developing competent general internists who can adapt to various healthcare settings and patient populations.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Elective experiences
  • Interview performance
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Demonstrated interest in Internal Medicine

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Florence Morriello

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator (Sudbury)

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Thunder Bay

  • Winnipeg - Internal MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 598 km

    21 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Sudbury · 655 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Windsor - Internal MedicineWestern University

    Windsor · 830 km

    4 positions · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 7 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35826 (CMG stream), 37121 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream