Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Parkland - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Parkland, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Rural Parkland, 7 teaching sites6 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Almost 90% of Parkland graduates to date have entered rural practice.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Established rural teaching unit (since 1991) with low preceptor-to-trainee ratios and little competition from other learners.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Emergency coverage temporarily moved to Ste Rose du Lac after the July 2026 flood damaged Dauphin's hospital.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year family medicine residency is based at the Parkland Family Medicine Residency Unit in Dauphin, Manitoba.
  • Specialty rotations take place in Winnipeg and Brandon, and PGY-2 includes 8 weeks in a smaller rural community such as Ste. Rose, Grandview or Swan River.
  • Residents must have a driver's licence and reliable vehicle, and a mandatory ultrasound curriculum is provided.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Indigenous health
Research
Offered
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block TimeParkland Family Medicine Residency Unit20 weeks
  • ObstetricsWinnipeg8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineWinnipeg8 weeks
  • Pediatrics EmergencyChildren's Hospital in Winnipeg4 weeks
  • Palliative MedicineWinnipeg4 weeks
  • Elective4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine - RuralSte. Rose, Grandview or Swan River8 weeks
  • Surgery4 weeks
  • FM-Anesthesia4 weeks
  • ICU/CCUBrandon4 weeks
  • Elective4 weeks
  • Community pediatrics

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • BEHAVIOURAL MEDICINE (horizontal through 2 years)
  • NUTRITION EDUCATION & CARE (horizontal through 2 years)
PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block Time20 weeks
  • ObstetricsWinnipeg8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineWinnipeg8 weeks
  • Pediatrics EmergencyChildren's Hospital in Winnipeg4 weeks
  • Palliative MedicineWinnipeg4 weeks
  • Elective4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine - RuralSte. Rose, Grandview or Swan River8 weeks
  • Surgery4 weeks
  • FM-Anesthesia4 weeks
  • ICU/CCUBrandon4 weeks
  • Elective4 weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • BEHAVIOURAL MEDICINE (horizontal through 2 years)
  • NUTRITION EDUCATION & CARE (horizontal through 2 years)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Parkland, Manitoba: 7 teaching sites6 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Parkland Family Medicine Residency Unit (Dauphin)
  • Dauphin Regional Health Centre (Dauphin)
  • Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Ste. Rose du Lac (Ste. Rose du Lac · rural or distributed site)
  • Grandview (Grandview · rural or distributed site)
  • Swan River (Swan River · rural or distributed site)
  • Brandon (Brandon · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

  • Parkland Family Medicine Residency Unit (Dauphin)
  • Dauphin Regional Health Centre (Dauphin)
  • Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Ste. Rose du Lac (Ste. Rose du Lac · rural or distributed site)
  • Grandview (Grandview · rural or distributed site)
  • Swan River (Swan River · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 3 of 7; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: Dauphin Regional Health Centre; Children's Hospital; Grandview (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Dauphin Regional Health Centre, Children's Hospital, Grandview.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Parkland.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream42 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted
IMG stream22 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream42 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream22 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Rural Parkland Family Medicine stream offers a comprehensive two-year residency program focused on training well-rounded family physicians for rural practice.
  • With nearly 90% of graduates entering rural practices, the program provides an unprecedented scope of practice, diverse training experiences, and hands-on exposure to community healthcare across various settings.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, supporting the development of research skills and offering workshops to all Family Medicine residents.
Training setting
Located in Dauphin, Manitoba, with training sites including Winnipeg, Dauphin, Ste. Rose du Lac, Grandview, Swan River, and Brandon. Primarily based at the Dauphin Regional Health Centre, serving as a regional referral center for the Parkland area.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on hands-on learning, progressive independence, and comprehensive patient care across diverse rural settings. Emphasizes continuity of care and exposure to a wide range of medical experiences.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Parkland

  • Rural Neepawa - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Neepawa · 119 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • South East (Moosomin) - Rural, SK · 128 km

    1 position · Competitive

    Rural
  • South East (Yorkton) - Regional, SK · 135 km

    2 positions · Competitive

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35794 (CMG stream), 35811 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream