Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Neepawa - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Neepawa, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Rural Neepawa, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Training hospital has no CT scanner, building clinical judgement.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • New hospital birthing tub for physician-attended immersion births, a first in Manitoba.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Weekly longitudinal ER shifts and deliveries during family medicine block time.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year family medicine program is based in Neepawa, a town of about 5685 people, with Family Medicine Block Time at the Beautiful Plains Community Medical Clinic.
  • Block time includes longitudinal ER, obstetrics and anesthesia experiences, supplemented by specialty rotations in Brandon and Winnipeg.
  • Residents must live in the Neepawa area and need a driver's licence and vehicle.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Small program
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Offered
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Internal Medicine (8 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • General Surgery (4 weeks · Brandon)
  • Orthopedic Surgery (2 weeks · Brandon, mostly in cast clinic)
  • Psychiatry (3 weeks · Brandon)
  • ER (4 weeks · Brandon or Winnipeg)
  • Peds ER (4 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • ICU (4 weeks · Brandon)
  • Pediatrics (4 weeks · Inpatient Winnipeg)
  • Obs/Gyne (8 weeks · Brandon)
  • Palliative Care (4 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • Electives (12 weeks)
  • Vacation (8 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Neepawa, Manitoba: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • Beautiful Plains Community Medical Clinic (Neepawa)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Neepawa

  • People

    5,685residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Neepawa

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −16.7 °CJanuary mean18.4 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Brandon, 49.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Neepawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Neepawa.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream22 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream22 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Family Medicine Rural Neepawa program offers a comprehensive two-year residency training experience focused on producing well-rounded family physicians who can practice confidently in diverse settings.
  • Residents will receive extensive clinical exposure through longitudinal experiences and specialty rotations, with a strong emphasis on rural medical practice and community engagement.
Research
Residents are supported in developing research skills through workshops and scholarly activities curriculum.
Training setting
Rural community of Neepawa (population 5,500), with clinical training at Beautiful Plains Community Medical Clinic and rotations in nearby urban centers like Brandon and Winnipeg.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing continuity of care, hands-on clinical experiences, and tailored learning objectives.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC score
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Neepawa

  • Rural Brandon - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Brandon · 55 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Rural Portage la Prairie · 88 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • Rural Parkland - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Parkland · 119 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35552 (CMG stream), 35372 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream