Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 14–15 Oct 2026virtual

Winnipeg, 11 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • HALO (High-Acuity-Low-Occurrence) procedure preparedness curriculum in a simulation lab.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Rural EM rotation options include remote Thompson, about 750 km north of Winnipeg.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Academic full day partially shared with the FRCPC emergency medicine program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year CCFP-EM program prepares family physicians for the CCFP-EM Certification in Emergency Medicine.
  • Residents complete a 4-week rural emergency rotation in Brandon, Thompson, Portage la Prairie, or Selkirk, and a required small scholarly project.
  • Ultrasound training is embedded into academic days to meet the CAEP national standard.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Emergency Medicine (Tertiary) (16 weeks · Health Sciences Centre and St. Boniface General Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (Community) (4 weeks · Grace Hospital)
  • Urgent Care (4 weeks · Seven Oaks Hospital or Victoria Hospital or Concordia Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (Rural) (4 weeks · Brandon, Thompson, Portage la Prairie, or Selkirk)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · The Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg)
  • Medical ICU (4 weeks · HSC or St. Boniface General Hospital)
  • Surgical ICU or M/SICU (4 weeks · HSC or St. Boniface General Hospital)
  • Gold Surgery (Trauma) (4 weeks · HSC)
  • Cardiology (4 weeks · St Boniface General Hospital)
  • Anesthesia (Adult) (4 weeks · Tertiary, Community, or Rural Hospital)
  • Neurology (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 1 week · HSC Stroke 25 Service)
  • Ophthalmology (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 2 Days)
  • EMS Ride Along (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · 2 Days)
  • Family Medicine Clinics (Optional) (Additional (Opt-In) Exposures · RAAM Day Clinic)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 11 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St Boniface General Hospital
  • Children's Emergency
  • Grace Hospital
  • Victoria Hospital
  • Concordia Hospital
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital
  • Selkirk Regional Health Centre (Selkirk · rural or distributed site)
  • Portage District General Hospital (Portage la Prairie · rural or distributed site)
  • Brandon Regional Health Centre (Brandon · rural or distributed site)
  • Thompson General Hospital (Thompson · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 8 of 11; no published record for 3.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; St Boniface General Hospital; Grace Hospital; Victoria Hospital; Concordia Hospital; Seven Oaks General Hospital; Portage District General Hospital; Thompson General Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St Boniface General Hospital, Grace Hospital, Victoria Hospital, Concordia Hospital, Seven Oaks General Hospital, Portage District General Hospital, Thompson General Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
14 and 15 Oct 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$83,372 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Robert Gourlay

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

CCFP-EM Program Administrator, FRCPC-EM Program Administrator, Enhanced Skills Program Administrator

Write to the officeemergmed.ccfp@umanitoba.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34554 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?