Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Winnipeg, 5 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Required out-of-province rotation with funding available to support travel.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents present at national virtual CSAM journal club and complex case rounds at least once yearly.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year Addiction Medicine enhanced skills program runs as a 13-block schedule of rotations including withdrawal management, an addiction consult service at HSC/SBH, and pain management.
  • Training includes a Northern/Remote block, an out-of-province rotation with travel funding, and longitudinal addiction clinic exposure.
  • Each resident is expected to complete a scholarly project, which may be a literature review, quality improvement project, or research.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Academic block “bootcamp” – first 2 weeks (0.5 blocks)
  • Hospital based Withdrawal management (1 block · AU)
  • Community based withdrawal management (1 block · MWMS)
  • Addiction Consult Service (2 blocks · HSC/SBH)
  • Bed-based treatment program - 2 weeks men’s, 2 weeks women’s (1 block)
  • RAAM (0.5 block)
  • Primary Care + Addiction + HIV (0.5 block · Nine Circles)
  • Northern/Remote (1 block)
  • Co-occurring disorders (CODI) (1 block)
  • Pain management - 2 weeks acute pain service, 2 weeks chronic pain clinic (1 block)
  • Longitudinal (may vary dependent on interest and experience) - OAT clinic, CARMA clinic, RAAM, contingency management (longitudinal)
  • Out-of-Province Selective (1 block)
  • Electives (1.5 blocks)
  • Vacation (1 block (4 weeks))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 5 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • SBH
  • AU
  • MWMS
  • Nine Circles

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 1 of 5; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$83,372 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Erin Knight

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34542 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?