Skip to content
CdnMD

Northern Ontario - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine

NOSM UniversityNorthern Ontario, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Northern Ontario, 13 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Required rotation in Sioux Lookout focused on remote addiction medicine and Indigenous health care.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Possible work in remote fly-in First Nations community wellness programs on the James Bay coast.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 12-month PGY-3 family medicine enhanced skills program in addiction medicine at NOSM University.
  • Residents are often based in Thunder Bay or Sudbury and are expected to rotate through Timmins and Sioux Lookout.
  • The curriculum has 36 weeks of core clinical rotations, including a research block, plus 16 weeks of electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Inpatient Addiction Medicine
  • Outpatient Addiction Medicine
  • Psychiatry Addiction
  • Community Rotation
  • Research Block
  • Inpatient rehabilitation/ Residential treatment
  • HIV and Hepatitis C care
  • FM Addiction Medicine (longitudinal)
  • Electives (16 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Northern Ontario, Ontario: 13 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • Thunder Bay (Thunder Bay)
  • Sudbury (Sudbury)
  • Timmins (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
  • Sioux Lookout (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
  • Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden)
  • Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora)
  • Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout)
  • Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare
  • Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances)
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group
  • Temiskaming Hospital
  • Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins)
Show all 13 sites
  • Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 10 of 13, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Timmins; Sioux Lookout; Dryden District Health Centre; Lake of the Woods District Hospital; Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre; Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.; Temiskaming Hospital; Timmins and District Hospital; Notre Dame Hospital.

Hospital facts

11 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Timmins, Temiskaming Hospital, Timmins and District Hospital, Notre Dame Hospital.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Sioux Lookout, Dryden District Health Centre, Lake of the Woods District Hospital, Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre, Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc..

Thunder Bay

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Greg Carfagnini

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Northern Ontario

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 15 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34547 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?