Québec - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programTue 3 Nov 2026,12:00–1:00 pm ET
Interviews
1 date, 25 Jan 2027
Québec, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Minimum research output: two peer-reviewed publications required, by the end of R2 and R4.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Six ORL blocks in first year give early, intensive specialty exposure.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year otolaryngology–head and neck surgery residency at Université Laval, trained at CHU de Québec hospitals.
- The first two years are shared with the Surgical Foundations curriculum, with 6 ORL blocks in first year.
- Residents must publish peer-reviewed articles by the end of R2 and R4, with a mandatory research block in third year.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-1
- ORL6 périodes
- Anesthésie-réanimation1 période
- Soins aigus1 période
- Stage de nuit1 période
- Infectiologie1 période
- Fondements chirurgicaux1 période
- Pneumologie1 période
- Chirurgie thoracique1 période
- PGY-2
- ORL6 périodes
- Neurochirurgie2 périodes
- Soins intensifs2 périodes
- Chirurgie plastique1 période
- Recherche2 semaines
- Dermatologie chirurgicale2 semaines
- Oculoplastie2 semaines
- Audiologie2 semaines
- Orthophonie1 semaine
- PGY-3
- ORL9 périodes
- ORL en région1 période
- Maxillo-faciale1 période
- Radio-oncologie1 période
- Recherche1 période
- PGY-4
- ORL13 périodes
- Radiologie2 semaines
- PGY-5
- ORL12 périodes
- Pathologie1 période
Where you train
Québec, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.
- CHU de Québec
- CHUL
- Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 5 of 5.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
CHU de Québec
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
CHUL
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
About Québec
People
549,459residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.4%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not required · this stream
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 2026
12:00–1:00 pm ET
Info session · Virtual
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 25 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date as the CaRMS page writes it |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université Laval Otorhinolaryngology and Cervicofacial Surgery Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on developing competent medical specialists.
- The program follows the Royal College's CanMEDS framework, emphasizing medical expertise, communication, collaboration, leadership, professionalism, and scholarship.
- Research
- Mandatory research components including publication requirements, protected research time, and annual Research Night presentations.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily at CHU de Québec hospitals in Quebec City, including CHUL, Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus, and Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competency by Design model with four progression stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Discipline Mastery, and Transition to Practice, focusing on resident-centered learning and progressive independence.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (DREM)
- Curriculum Vitae
- Interview
- Letters of Recommendation
- Motivation Letter
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr(e) Sophie LachanceCodirectrice de programme
Dr(e) Patrick Marin
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery elsewhere
Nearest to Québec
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?