Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Neurochirurgie

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See 2027 Neurosurgery programs

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream

Interviews

1 date as the CaRMS page writes it

Québec, 2 teaching sites

Summary

  • The Université Laval Neurosurgery Residency Program is a 6-year Competence by Design (CBD) program.
  • The first year and a half is joint with the Surgical Foundations program.
  • The program offers all neurosurgical subspecialties and focuses primarily at the Hôpital Enfant-Jésus, with pediatric neurosurgery at CHUL.

What training looks like

Research
Residents have one month of research per year and are encouraged to develop academic projects, including potential micro-programs, clinician-researcher programs, or master's degrees.
Training setting
Primary training at CHU de Québec-Hôpital Enfant-Jésus in Quebec City, with pediatric neurosurgery training at CHUL. The service operates 2-4 operating rooms daily with an impressive technological infrastructure.
Teaching approach
Competence-based medical education focused on progressive independence, interpersonal skills, clinical competence, and research capabilities. Emphasizes teamwork, leadership, and a balance between personal and professional development.
Enhanced skills
  • Potential micro-program in pedagogy
  • Clinician-researcher program
  • Master's degree opportunities

By year

PGY-1
  • Soins intensifsHEJ2 périodes
  • Neurochirurgie-fondementHEJ2 périodes
  • Chirurgie généraleHEJ1 période
  • VasculaireHSFA1 période
  • PlastieHEJ1 période
  • Introduction à la chirurgieUniversité Laval1 période
  • CardiologieHEJ1 période
  • InfectiologieHEJ1 période
  • AnesthésieHEJ1 période
  • UrgenceHEJ1 période
  • Stage de NuitHEJ1 période
PGY-2
  • NeurochirurgieHEJ6 périodes
  • NeurologieHEJ3 périodes
  • Neuroradiologie (TDM)HEJ2 périodes
  • Neurochirurgie fondementsHEJ2 périodes
PGY-3
  • NeurochirurgieHEJ9 périodes
  • Neurochirurgie pédiatriqueCHUL2 périodes
  • RechercheHEJ1 période
  • Neuroradiologie (IRM)HEJ1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 2 teaching sites.

  • CHU de Québec-Hôpital Enfant-Jésus
  • CHUL

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

CHUL

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

What the program looks at
  • Academic record (15%)
  • Academic performance (10%)
  • Clinical rotations (35%)
  • Interview (30%)
  • Reference and presentation letters (10%)

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2026 match)
28 janvier 2026
Format
Not stated on CaRMS page

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year
PGY-6
$89,131 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

See 2027 Neurosurgery programs, or the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

  • Montreal - NeurochirurgieUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 233 km

    1 position · Regular

  • Ottawa - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 379 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Halifax - NeurosurgeryDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 639 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2026 match · last approved date not on file.

Accreditation not stated on CaRMS page · CaRMS program ID 29230 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?