Skip to content
CdnMD

Nord de Lanaudière - Family Medicine

Université LavalNord de Lanaudière, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
12 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

Nord de Lanaudière, 3 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Indigenous health exposure at the Masko-Siwin health centre in the Atikamekw community of Manawan.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional one-year PGY-3 Transition to Practice program offered at this site, with priority for its own residents.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Free focused-ultrasound training is built into the program for all regional residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Université Laval family medicine program is based at the Nord de Lanaudière GMF-U, near the Centre hospitalier De Lanaudière, a 335-bed intermediate hospital.
  • Residents spend 22 of 26 periods in the region, and rotations run longitudinally alongside GMF-U activities.
  • Training includes Indigenous health exposure in the Atikamekw community of Manawan.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Early independence
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

PGY-1
  • Fondation à la médecine de famille (période de transition)
  • Urgence
  • Périnatalité
  • Stage à option (ou région) #1
PGY-2
  • Médecine familiale + équité en santé2 semaines
  • Soins intensifs ou médecine interne
  • Stage à option (ou région) #2
  • Soins aux personnes âgées et soins palliatifs
  • Stage à option (ou région) #3

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Nord de Lanaudière, Quebec: 3 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • GMF-U du Nord de Lanaudière
  • Santé Québec Lanaudière – Centre hospitalier de Lanaudière (CHDL)
  • Centre de santé Masko-Siwin (Manawan · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Santé Québec Lanaudière – Centre hospitalier de Lanaudière (CHDL)

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

About Joliette

  • People

    21,384residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Joliette

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −10.9 °CJanuary mean20.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, L'assomption, 22.6 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Joliette (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Nord de Lanaudière.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream122 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamNord de Lanaudière - Médecine familiale122 years5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train comprehensive family physicians capable of providing high-quality, continuous healthcare across various settings.
  • The program emphasizes a holistic approach to patient care, focusing on scientific knowledge, clinical experience, and understanding patients' personal and social contexts.
Research
Residents can engage in clinical research projects and have opportunities for scholarly activities throughout their training.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at CISSS de Lanaudière – Centre hospitalier de Lanaudière (CHDL), a 335-bed intermediate care center with a complete technical platform. Residents will also work in various regional clinics and the Masko-Siwin health center in the Manawan Indigenous community.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with an integrated, longitudinal approach emphasizing progressive independence, interprofessional collaboration, and continuous professional development across various clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • USMLE (for international graduates)
  • Clinical performance evaluations
  • Stage assessments
  • Mid-stage evaluations
  • Progression reports

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Nord de Lanaudière

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35849 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?