Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

Université LavalQuébec, Quebec

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream

Particular stream

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Québec, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Optional continuity family-practice clinic one day every two weeks in the resident's teaching family medicine unit.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Program funds online attendance at the annual SGQ geriatrics congress and a Caducée portal subscription.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Opening academic medicine rotation with the Cliniciens érudits program to launch the scholarly project.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents must complete a scholarly project, supported by an academic medicine rotation, and may keep a continuity clinic one day every two weeks.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • family_practice_continuity
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Unité de courte durée gériatrique (UCDG) avec des médecins de famille (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 3 périodes)
  • Stage en clinique de la douleur (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Stage de consultation aux étages avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Stage de médecine universitaire (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Stages en soins ambulatoires et en soins de longue durée (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 2 périodes)
  • Unité de réadaptation fonctionnelle intensive (URFI) (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Gérontospychiatrie (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Soins palliatifs (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Clinique de la mémoire avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Stage de consultation à l'urgence avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation un an · 1 période)
  • Unité de courte durée gériatrique (UCDG) avec des médecins de famille (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Stage de médecine universitaire (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Stages en soins ambulatoires et en soins de longue durée (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Unité de réadaptation fonctionnelle intensive (URFI) OU Gérontospychiatrie (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Soins palliatifs (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Clinique de la mémoire avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 8 teaching sites.

  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise
  • Hôpital St-Sacrement
  • Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus
  • CHUL
  • Hôpital Jeffery Hale
  • Hôpital du Christ-Roi
  • Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise
  • Hôpital St-Sacrement
  • Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus
  • CHUL
  • Hôpital Jeffery Hale
  • Hôpital du Christ-Roi
  • Hotel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Cristal-Net at 5 of 9; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital St-François d'Assise, CHUL.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hôpital St-François d'Assise

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254

Hôpital St-Sacrement

Matched to Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111
Show facts for 4 more sites

Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

CHUL

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

Hôpital Jeffery Hale

Matched to Hôpital Jeffery Hale (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 15 · geriatrics 16

Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Conseillère en gestion des études, Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officesecteur1empd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The Regular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Jul 2026 · The Particular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Jul 2026 · FM/ES 2027 match.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 34544 (Regular stream), 34538 (Particular stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Regular streamParticular stream · change stream