Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Cardiac Surgery

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 27 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 2 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Trains at the adult cardiac surgery centre with the highest surgical volume in Canada.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents expect 300 to 600 operations as first operator.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • Université Laval's cardiac surgery residency is a 6-year program with rotations at the Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec and the CHU de Québec.
  • Residents can expect to perform 300 to 600 operations as first operator.
  • Interviews are virtual and held on January 27, 2027.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Stage de chirurgie cardiaque (Transition vers la discipline · 2 à 3 mois)
  • Chirurgie cardiaque (Fondements de la discipline)
  • vasculaire (Fondements de la discipline)
  • cardiologie (échocardiographie) (Fondements de la discipline)
  • soins intensifs (Fondements de la discipline)
  • traumatologie (Fondements de la discipline)
  • Chirurgie cardiaque (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • chirurgie cardiaque pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • cardiologie (hémodynamie, électrophysiologie) (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • endovasculaire (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • enrichissement académique (Maîtrise de la discipline)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 2 teaching sites.

  • Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
  • CHU de Québec

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

CHU de Québec

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Cardiac Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year
PGY-6
$89,131 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream16 years1 date, 27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Chirurgie cardiaque16 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Cardiac Surgery Residency Program aims to train competent and autonomous cardiac surgeons.
  • The program offers comprehensive training across all cardiac surgery spheres at the Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec, which has the highest surgical volume in Canada.
Research
Opportunities for academic enrichment and research in cardiac, thoracic, and vascular surgery
Training setting
Training occurs at two primary sites: Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (adult cardiac surgery) and CHU de Québec (pediatric cardiac surgery) in Quebec City.
Teaching approach
Progressive, competency-based training with gradual increase in surgical complexity and autonomy, focusing on direct observation and continuous evaluation of professional activities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Interview
  • Direct clinical observation
  • Annual written examinations
  • Oral examinations
  • Competent Professional Activities (CPA) evaluation

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agent à la gestion des études

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Cardiac Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 16 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36312 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?