Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Cardiac Surgery

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 3 Feb 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Ottawa, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Senior trainees can do a three-month congenital cardiac surgery rotation at McGill University in Montreal.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Sole adult cardiac surgery centre for Eastern Ontario and Western Quebec, about 1900 heart procedures annually.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Minimum research productivity criteria are tied to resident promotion.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 6-year cardiac surgery residency based at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, a quaternary care centre on the Civic Campus of The Ottawa Hospital.
  • Residents also train at The Ottawa Hospital General Campus for thoracic surgery and at CHEO for pediatric cardiac surgery.
  • All residents must participate in research, with minimal research productivity criteria linked to promotion.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Cardiac Surgery3 blocks
  • Cardiac Anesthesia
  • Cardiology
  • ICU (Cardiac Surgery and General Surgery)
  • Critical Care Unit
  • Trauma
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Enrichment
PGY-2
  • Cardiac Surgery
  • Cardiac Surgery ICU
  • Cardiology Intervention
  • Critical Care Unit
  • Vascular Surgery
PGY-5
  • Cardiac surgery rotations
  • elective/fellowship opportunities

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Thoracic Surgery (PGY-3-4)
  • Vascular Surgery (PGY-3-4)
  • Cardiac Surgery (PGY-3-4)
  • Cardiac Surgery (Transition to Practice)
  • CHEO (Transition to Practice · CHEO)
  • Congenital Cardiac Surgery rotation (three months period · McGill University in Montreal, QC)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.

  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • McGill University (Montreal)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
3 Feb 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Cardiac Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year
PGY-6
$104,167 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream16 years1 date, 3 Feb 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)Nothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream16 years1 date, 3 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Cardiac Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive training at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, a quaternary care center providing expertise in adult cardiac surgery.
  • Residents will be exposed to state-of-the-art techniques across multiple cardiac surgical domains and have extensive opportunities for research and academic development.
Research
Extensive research opportunities at the Ottawa Heart Institute Research Centre, including vascular biology, myocardial preservation, thrombosis research, and clinical epidemiology. Residents are encouraged to participate in clinical trials and laboratory research.
Training setting
Training occurs at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, located on the Civic Campus of The Ottawa Hospital, performing approximately 1900 heart procedures annually. Pediatric Cardiac Surgery is performed at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO).
Teaching approach
The program follows the Competency by Design (CBD) Framework, organizing residency into 4 Stages of Training: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice, ensuring residents achieve competence in all Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs).
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Letters of reference
  • Research portfolio
  • Interview performance
  • Elective experiences

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officecardiac.pa@toh.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Cardiac Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    2 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - Cardiac SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 6 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35676 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?