Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Medical Genetics and Genomics

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required university credit courses with full enrolment during the first three years.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • On-site genetics laboratories at CHU Sainte-Justine covering cytogenetics, molecular and biochemical genetics.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Exposure to the Quebec newborn metabolic screening program via CHU Sainte-Justine.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year Royal College medical genetics and genomics residency at Université de Montréal.
  • Training is based at CHU Sainte-Justine, with CHUM as the secondary site for adult genetics.
  • The curriculum includes six mandatory months of laboratory training and two required research periods, and a continuity clinic starts in third year.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • médecine interne, unité d’enseignementCHUM2 périodes
  • neurologie adulte, étage et clinique externeCHUM2 périodes
  • obstétrique à haut risque (GARE)CHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • endocrinologie adulteCHUM1 période
  • oncologie adulteCHUM1 période
  • stage à option en milieu adulteCHUM1 période
  • cardiologie pédiatrique et adulteCHU Sainte-Justine et Institut de cardiologie de Montréal1 période
  • urgence pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
PGY-2
  • pédiatrie, unité de soinsCHU Sainte-Justine3 périodes
  • néonatalogie, soins intensifs et soins intermédiairesCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • neuropédiatrie, étage et clinique externeCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • pédiatrie du développementCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • physiatrieCRME1 période
  • hématologie pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
  • clinique externe de génétique prénataleCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
  • génétique pédiatrique à l’étageCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
PGY-3
  • laboratoire de génétique biochimique2 périodes
  • laboratoire de génétique moléculaire2 périodes
  • laboratoire de cytogénétique2 périodes
  • recherche en génétique2 périodes
  • clinique externe de génétique pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • génétique pédiatrique à l’étageCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • clinique externe de génétique métabolique pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
PGY-4
  • clinique externe de génétique pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine4 périodes
  • génétique pédiatrique à l’étageCHU Sainte-Justine4 périodes
  • génétique adulte, clinique externe et étageCHUM3 périodes
  • tératologie au Centre IMAGECHU Sainte-Justine1 période
  • communicationCHU Sainte-Justine1 période
PGY-5
  • stages à option3 périodes
  • clinique externe de génétique pédiatriqueCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes
  • génétique pédiatrique à l’étageCHU Sainte-Justine2 périodes

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • étage en génétique pédiatrique (Progression vers la discipline — étape 1 · 1 période · CHU Sainte-Justine)
  • clinique externe et d’étage en génétique adulte (Progression vers la discipline — étape 1 · 1 période · CHUM)
  • rôle de patron·ne junior à l’étage de génétique pédiatrique (Transition vers la pratique — étape 4 · 2 périodes · CHU Sainte-Justine)
  • rôle de patron·ne junior en clinique externe, prénatale et pédiatrique (Transition vers la pratique — étape 4 · 1 période · CHU Sainte-Justine)
  • stages à option (Transition vers la pratique — étape 4 · 3 périodes)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 7 teaching sites.

  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
  • Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Centre de réadaptation Marie-Enfant (Montréal)
  • Centre de réadaptation Lucie-Bruneau (Montréal)
  • Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 7, TELUS at 1; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHU Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

Institut de cardiologie de Montréal

Matched to Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
Licensed beds
physical health 153
Show facts for 2 more sites

Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal

Matched to Hôpital et Centre de Réadaptation en Déficience Physique IRGLM-Gustave-Gingras (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 99

Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMontreal - Génétique et génomique médicales25 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Medical Genetics and Genomics residency program at Université de Montréal aims to train specialists capable of evaluating physiological and pathological states in humans, with expertise in prenatal diagnosis, teratology, chromosomal anomalies, and genetic counseling.
  • The 5-year program provides comprehensive training in clinical and academic aspects of medical genetics.
Research
Residents must participate in at least one research project, with encouragement for clinician-researcher pathway.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple hospitals and research centers with extensive clinical and laboratory exposure.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing clinical skills, research, communication, and interdisciplinary collaboration across adult and pediatric settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Research involvement
  • Communication skills
  • Collaborative abilities
  • Leadership potential

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Medical Genetics and Genomics elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 28 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35775 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?