Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine

Université de MontréalMontreal, Quebec

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%
76–100%

Regular stream

Particular stream

Interviews

1 date, 26 Oct 2026virtual

Not stated on the Particular stream’s CaRMS page

Montreal, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Residents take part in ECHO telementoring projects on hepatitis, concurrent disorders, chronic pain and Indigenous wellness.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Community placement includes the Native Friendship Centre of Montréal clinic.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents may sit the ISAM certification exams.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 12-month addiction medicine program is based at the CHUM addiction medicine service in Montréal, a francophone hospital with a research centre.
  • Training includes ambulatory, inpatient and consultation-liaison blocks, addiction psychiatry, a community placement and an 8-week scholarly block.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Blocs ambulatoires (9 semaines)
  • Blocs hospitaliers (9 semaines)
  • Blocs consultation-liaison (10 semaines)
  • Bloc érudition (8 semaines · CRCHUM)
  • Stage de psychiatrie des toxicomanies (4 semaines · CHUM)
  • Stage communautaire en toxicomanie (4 semaines)
  • Stage à option au sein du réseau de l'Université de Montréal (4 semaines)
  • Stage à option hors réseau (4 semaines)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.

  • Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Centre de recherche du CHUM (Montréal)
  • Centre d'amitié autochtone de Montréal (Montréal)
  • CLSC Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (Montréal)
  • Relais-méthadone: Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 1 of 5; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

Relais-méthadone: Hôpital Notre-Dame

Matched to Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
26 Oct 2026
Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on the Particular stream’s CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Iskra Pirija

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

secrétaire

Write to the officeenseignement.medtoxico.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The Regular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Oct 2026 · The Particular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 13 Aug 2026 · FM/ES 2027 match.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 34603 (Regular stream), 34641 (Particular stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Regular streamParticular stream · change stream