Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Vascular Surgery

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Tue 3 Nov 2026,6:30–7:30 pm (time zone not stated)

Interviews

1 date, 21 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Two hybrid OR suites built specifically for vascular surgery, plus a dedicated vascular step-down unit and ward.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Works with Cardiac Surgery on complex aortic cases, including arch and thoracoabdominal procedures.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Works with podiatrists in a dedicated limb preservation and vascular risk reduction clinic.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency based at the Peter Lougheed Centre in Calgary, covering five major hospital sites in the city.
  • The service is a quaternary referral centre serving a catchment of about 3.2 million people.
  • Residents complete Surgical Foundations first, followed by four years of senior, enrichment and elective rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Vascular Surgery
  • Surgical Foundations
  • Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery Access
  • General Surgery Trauma
  • Cardiac Care
  • Vascular Anesthesia
  • Angiography
  • Ultrasound & Vascular Lab
  • Research
  • Transplant Surgery
  • ICU
  • Podiatry
  • Cardiac Surgery

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.

  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Foothills Medical Centre
  • Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
  • Alberta Children's Hospital
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • South Health Campus
  • Zivot Limb Preservation Clinic

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Peter Lougheed Centre, Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Children's Hospital, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream16 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary Vascular Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive training in a large volume quaternary referral service covering southern Alberta, western Saskatchewan, and eastern British Columbia.
  • The program provides extensive clinical exposure, research opportunities, and a strong focus on teaching across five major hospital sites in Calgary.
Research
Research is highly encouraged, with opportunities in basic science, clinical outcomes, and medical education. Potential participation in Royal College Clinical Investigator or Surgeon Scientist Programs.
Training setting
Training occurs across five major hospital sites in Calgary, with the primary base at Peter Lougheed Centre. The program serves a catchment population of approximately 3.2 million persons.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBD) with progressive independence, emphasizing comprehensive clinical exposure, weekly academic sessions, and continuous evaluation through EPA and ITER assessments.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Vascular Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Vancouver - Vascular SurgeryUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 673 km

    1 position · CMG

  • London - Vascular SurgeryWestern University

    London, ON · 2,619 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Hamilton - Vascular SurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton, ON · 2,699 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36441 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?