Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Vascular Surgery

McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Hamilton, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Hamilton General is a Canadian referral centre for thoracoabdominal and complex thoracic aortic reconstructions.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Chief residency starts at PGY4.5, leaving the final six months for focused training and exam study.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency at McMaster University, with training at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Hospital.
  • The first two years are foundational surgical training, followed by vascular-focused years including 4 blocks of Community Vascular Surgery in PGY3.
  • Residents must complete two research projects, and chief residency begins at PGY4 1/2.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-3
  • Vascular Surgery8 blocks
  • Community Vascular Surgery4 blocks
  • Vascular Radiology/Non Invasive Vascular lab2 blocks
  • selective/research1 block
PGY-4
  • Vascular Surgery11 blocks
  • Interventional Radiology2 blocks
PGY-5
  • Vascular SurgeryHamilton General Hospital
  • electives

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Vascular surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 8 blocks)
  • Internal Medicine subspecialties Nephrology and Cardiology (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
  • General Surgery (ACS & HPB) (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
  • Plastic Surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
  • Vascular Medicine (PGY 1 and 2 · 1 block)
  • Cardiac Surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
  • Intensive Care (PGY 1 and 2 · 3 blocks)
  • Coronary Care Unit (PGY 1 and 2 · 1 block)
  • elective (PGY 1 and 2 · 3 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 3 teaching sites.

  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 3, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital.

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officewegschek@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Vascular Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - Vascular SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • London - Vascular SurgeryWestern University

    London · 116 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Ottawa - Vascular SurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 410 km

    1 position · CMG

In these collections:

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 4 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36287 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?