Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Radiation Oncology

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 4 Feb 2027virtual

Calgary, 9 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Core rotations are 8 weeks long, with one or two preceptors per trainee.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Main training centre has two MR linear accelerators and MRI-guided brachytherapy suites.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Calgary Radiation Oncology residency is a 5-year program whose main training site is the Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre.
  • PGY-1 includes 11 months of Foundations rotations, and the Core stage includes a mandatory rural/community-based radiation oncology rotation of at least 4 weeks.
  • Residents are expected to complete at least one research project, with up to six elective/research blocks.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • general internal medicine (Foundations · four week)
  • general surgery (Foundations · four week)
  • respirology (Foundations · four week)
  • otolaryngology (Foundations · four week)
  • emergency medicine (Foundations · four week)
  • gynecologic oncology (Foundations · four week)
  • pediatric oncology (Foundations · four week)
  • medical oncology (Foundations · four week)
  • palliative care (Foundations · four week)
  • pathology (Foundations · four week)
  • diagnostic radiology (Foundations · four week)
  • radiation oncology rotations (Core · 36-44 months)
  • electives/research blocks (Core · up to 6 blocks)
  • rural/community-based radiation oncology rotation (Core · minimum of 4 weeks)
  • medical oncology (Core · four-week)
  • Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · 3-9 months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 9 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
  • Tom Baker Cancer Centre
  • Foothills Medical Centre
  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • South Health Campus
  • Alberta Children's Hospital
  • Jack Ady Cancer Centre (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
  • Central Alberta Cancer Centre (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 8 of 9; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Tom Baker Cancer Centre, Foothills Medical Centre, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus, Alberta Children's Hospital, Jack Ady Cancer Centre, Central Alberta Cancer Centre.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

7 Radiation Oncology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years1 date, 4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary offers a comprehensive 5-year Radiation Oncology Residency Training Program that provides foundational training to develop independent radiation oncologists.
  • The program follows Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) guidelines and is fully accredited, offering extensive clinical exposure and academic training across multiple cancer centers.
Research
Residents are expected to complete at least one clinical or basic science research project during training, with opportunities across oncology specialties and research institutes.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Calgary, Alberta, including the new Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre, Foothills Medical Centre, and multiple regional cancer centers.
Teaching approach
Structured competency-based training with progressive independence, focusing on developing comprehensive clinical skills, research capabilities, and professional competencies across multiple CanMEDS domains.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Radiation Oncology elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Edmonton - Radiation OncologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 281 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - Radiation OncologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 673 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver Island - Radiation OncologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver Island, BC · 821 km

    1 position · Competitive RoS

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35827 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?