Vancouver - Radiation Oncology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 21 Jan 2027
Vancouver, 8 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
A dedicated Resident Research Coordinator meets residents regularly to help with project screening, methodology and publication.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Resident-to-faculty ratio of 1:2 at the Vancouver Cancer Centre.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
- The UBC Radiation Oncology program is a 5-year residency based at BC Cancer's Vancouver Centre, with the basic clinical year completed at St. Paul's Hospital or Royal Columbian Hospital.
- Residents spend at least one month at another BC Cancer site in Victoria, Surrey, Abbotsford, Prince George or Kelowna.
- All residents complete at least one scholarly project and present research annually.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Radiation Oncology (Transition to Discipline · first two blocks)
- general internal medicine (Foundations)
- general surgery (Foundations)
- sub-specialty medicine (including medical oncology) (Foundations)
- sub-specialty surgery (Foundations)
- palliative medicine (Foundations)
- radiology (Foundations)
- pathology (Foundations)
- Physics rotation (Core)
- community rotation (at least one month · one of the other BC Cancer sites (Victoria, Surrey, Abbotsford, Prince George or Kelowna))
Where you train
Vancouver, British Columbia: 8 teaching sites.
- BC Cancer- Vancouver Cancer Center (VCC)
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Fraser Valley Cancer (Surrey · rural or distributed site)
- Abbotsford Cancer Centre (Abbotsford · rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver Island Cancer (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Cancer Centre for the North (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 8, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 6.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
St. Paul's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
About Vancouver
People
662,248residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.7%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
5.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
7 Radiation Oncology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 21 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Radiation Oncology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in radiation oncology, providing residents with excellent clinical exposure, research opportunities, and mentorship.
- Located in Vancouver, the program emphasizes a collegial learning environment with strong provincial connections and a focus on developing well-rounded radiation oncology specialists.
- Research
- Residents complete at least one scholarly project, with support from a dedicated Resident Research Coordinator and access to BC Cancer Research Centre databases.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily at BC Cancer - Vancouver Cancer Center, with rotations at multiple cancer centers across British Columbia including Vancouver, Surrey, Victoria, Kelowna, and Prince George.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing comprehensive clinical skills development, research scholarship, and preparation for independent practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical school transcripts
- Research portfolio
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Clinical rotation feedback
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Michael Peacock
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Radiation Oncology elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver
Did this page answer your question?