Calgary - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027
Calgary, 7 teaching sites · required rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Training sites include Northwest Territories Health and Social Services and Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Accommodation is fully funded during mandatory rural or remote rotations.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year University of Calgary PHPM program with two CMG positions, both including the opportunity for joint certification in Family Medicine.
- PGY1–PGY3 combine Family Medicine clinical training with one year of academic coursework in core public health sciences.
- PGY4–PGY5 include 18 months of required urban and rural public health field rotations, with funded accommodation during mandatory rural or remote rotations.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Public health agency
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Communicable disease control (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Environmental health (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Health promotion and chronic disease prevention (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Cancer screening and prevention (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Rural public health (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Senior MOH rotations (final year of training)
- Elective rotations (final year of training · At least six months)
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 7 teaching sites; required rural rotation.
- University of Calgary Family Medicine Program
- University of Calgary Department of Community Health Sciences
- Ministry of Primary and Preventive Health Services
- Primary Care Alberta and other Provincial Health Agencies
- Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
- Public Health Laboratory
- Northwest Territories Health and Social Services (rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 7 of 7.
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19 and 28 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
3 Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 2 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Calgary Public Health and Preventive Medicine (PHPM) program trains outstanding public health specialists who lead, collaborate, and innovate to improve population health.
- The 5-year program offers integrated clinical and academic training with flexibility to develop specialized competencies aligned with individual career goals.
- Research
- Residents complete a research or quality improvement project with program support, and can pursue thesis-based graduate degrees with various specialization options.
- Training setting
- Diverse training sites across urban and rural settings in Alberta, including university departments, provincial health agencies, and remote locations with full accommodation funding.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, generalist training with opportunities for specialized experiences, and integration of clinical and academic public health learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. David Klassen
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?