Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Edmonton, 17 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Residents can do Occupational Medicine rotations, offered at one of only two such programs in Canada.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Placement sites include the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Offices of the Chief Medical Officer of Health.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This 5-year University of Alberta Public Health and Preventive Medicine program includes a two-year Family Medicine placement, typically in the first two years.
  • Residents complete 12-20 months of full-time academic courses, including Epidemiology and Biostatistics, working toward a Master of Public Health.
  • Later years consist of core public health rotations, including senior health policy and management rotations, plus selectives and electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Public health agency
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

PGY-1
  • Basic Clinical Training (BCT)
PGY-3
  • Core Public Health rotations

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Academic courses (PGY2 - PGY3 · 12-20 months · School of Public Health at the University of Alberta)
  • Core Public Health rotations, including senior rotations such as health policy and senior management (PGY4-PGY5)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 17 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • School of Public Health (MPH)
  • Division of Preventive Medicine, Department of Medicine
  • Department of Family Medicine
  • Alberta Ministry of Primary and Preventative Health Services (PPHS)
  • PPHS Edmonton, Central, South and Calgary Zones (Urban and Rural areas) (rural or distributed site)
  • PPHS Provincial Programs (e.g. Screening)
  • Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health (eg Health Policy)
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Provincial Laboratory of Public Health for Northern Alberta
  • Indigenous Health Services
  • Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)
  • University of Alberta
Show all 17 sites
  • Grey Nuns Hospital
  • Misericordia Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Northwest Territories Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health (rural or distributed site)
  • Nunavut Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 17; no published record for 14.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Grey Nuns Hospital, Misericordia Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Edmonton.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years3–4 Feb 2026, listed as a range
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta Public Health and Preventive Medicine Residency Program aims to provide residents with practical experience and skills to work in all areas of public health and preventive medicine.
  • The program offers a comprehensive five-year training that combines clinical rotations, academic coursework, and opportunities for specialized training tailored to individual interests.
Research
Residents complete an MPH practicum research project and have opportunities for additional research and quality improvement projects throughout the program.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and rural sites in Alberta, including University of Alberta facilities, Alberta Health Services locations, hospitals, health centers, and community clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on practical application of public health skills, with progressive independence and hands-on experience complemented by academic learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper assessment
  • Academic record
  • Personal letter
  • Letters of reference
  • Interview performance
  • Elective experiences
  • Leadership skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Karen Lee

    780-492-3418

  • Michael ZakharyAssistant Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officemepphpm@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35329 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?