Calgary - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 13 Oct 2026
Calgary, 12 teaching sites · required rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Emphasis on non-malignant palliative care, with about 43% of consultations for non-malignant disease.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Resident-designed wellness retreat in the Rockies, funded by the program.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family physicians in palliative care.
- Training takes place at Calgary hospitals and hospices, including the Foothills Medical Centre intensive palliative care unit, plus a rural consultation team block.
- Residents complete a scholarly project with a dedicated block and 12 half days of protected time.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Hospital Consultation Team Junior (1 block)
- Intensive Palliative Care Unit Junior (2 blocks)
- Home Care (1 block)
- Outpatient Malignant Clinics (Medical Oncology, Radiation Oncology, Surgical Oncology, Gyne Oncology, Dyspnea Clinic, Lymphedema Clinic and Cancer Pain Clinic) (1 block)
- Scholarly Project (1 block)
- Calgary Zone Rural Consultation Team (Home Care Rural) (1 block)
- Outpatient Non-Malignant Clinics (End Stage Clinics- cardiology, nephrology, respirology, motor neuron disease clinic, and COPD community care visits) (1 block)
- Hospital Consultation Team Senior (1 block)
- Intensive Palliative Care Unit Senior (1 block)
- Home Care + Hospice (1 block)
- Electives (2 blocks)
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 12 teaching sites; required rural rotation.
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre
- Peter Lougheed Hospital
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Rosedale Hospice
- Agape Hospice
- Southwood Hospice
- Dulcina Hospice
- Chinook Hospice
- Skypointe Hospice
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 12; no published record for 8.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 13 Oct 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Meshach David
Dr. Ronald Garnett
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?