Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Edmonton, 2 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal inner-city care with the Palliative Care Outreach and Advocacy Team throughout the year.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents take the Junior Attending role during their final tertiary palliative care unit blocks.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year enhanced skills program prepares residents for primary and consultative palliative care in a variety of clinical settings.
  • Training includes 4 blocks on the tertiary palliative care unit at the Grey Nuns Hospital plus oncology and consult rotations at the Cross Cancer Institute.
  • Residents complete a mentored scholarly project and have one day of protected time per week.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Underserved urban
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Tertiary Palliative Care unit (4 blocks · Grey Nuns Hospital)
  • Community Consult Team (2 blocks)
  • Medical Oncology (2 weeks) and Radiation Oncology (2 weeks) (1 block · Cross Cancer Institute)
  • inpatient consults and outpatient consults via the Pain and Symptom Clinic (1 block · Cross Cancer Institute)
  • Acute Care Consult Teams (2 blocks)
  • elective time (3 blocks)
  • Palliative Care Outreach and Advocacy Team (PCOAT) (one day every 4-6 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 2 teaching sites.

  • Grey Nuns Hospital
  • Cross Cancer Institute

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 2.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Grey Nuns Hospital, Cross Cancer Institute.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,058 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Contacts and links

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 17 Aug 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34667 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?