Calgary - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 26 Oct 2026
Calgary, 8 teaching sites · required rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Shared academic half day with the Division of Geriatrics / Geriatric Internal Medicine program.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Dedicated vulnerable patients block at The Alex Seniors Clinic.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 1-year Care of the Elderly enhanced skills program based in Calgary.
- Core rotations include geriatric psychiatry, inpatient geriatric consults at Rockyview and Foothills, and a rural geriatric block in Lethbridge.
- Residents complete a research/scholarship block and longitudinal clinics in geriatric outpatient care and long term care.
- Interviews are virtual.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Geriatric Psychiatry - Inpatient and outpatient (Core rotations · 2 blocks)
- In-patient Geriatric consult service (Core rotations · 2 blocks · Rockyview & Foothills Hospitals)
- Acute Geriatric Unit (Core rotations · 1 block · Rockyview General Hospital)
- Rural Geriatric experience (Core rotations · 1 block · Lethbridge, AB)
- Carewest C3 comprehensive adult day program (Core rotations · 2 blocks · Carewest C3)
- Community palliative and hospice (Core rotations · 1 block)
- Vulnerable patients block (Core rotations · 1 block · The Alex Seniors Clinic)
- Elective (Core rotations · 2 blocks)
- Research/Scholarship (Core rotations · 1 block)
- Specialized geriatric outpatient residents' clinic (Longitudinal rotations)
- Long term care (Longitudinal rotations)
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 8 teaching sites; required rural rotation.
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre
- Bridgeland Seniors Health Centre
- Carewest Sarcee
- Carewest C3 Beddington
- The Alex Seniors Clinic
- Lethbridge (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 8; no published record for 6.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- IMG requirements
- “Unfortunately, we are unable to accept international applicants who do not hold a CCFP designation.”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 26 Oct 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Danielle Carpentier
Dr. Ronald Garnett
- Program office
Program Administrator, Enhanced Skills Team Lead
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?